Further Information

Brenda Schulman, Ernst Jung Prize Awardee 2019

Contact

Prof. Brenda Schulman, Ph.D.
Prof. Brenda Schulman, Ph.D.
Director
Phone:+49 89 8578-2472

Molecular Machines and Signaling

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Public Relations
Phone:+49 89 8578-2824
Email:pr@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Brenda Schulman receives Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine 2019

May 23, 2019

Brenda Schulman, head of the department "Molecular Machines and Signaling" at the Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry in Martinsried, receives the Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine 2019 together with the neurobiologist Gary R. Lewin from Berlin. The prize money of 300,000 euros is shared equally. Brenda Schulman receives the award in recognition and continuation of her groundbreaking work on the mechanisms of ubiquitin transfer at the atomic level. The Ernst Jung Prize will be awarded today in Hamburg.

On the trail of a “ubiquitous” molecule

Brenda Schulman, PhD Zoom Image

Brenda Schulman, PhD

The molecule ubiquitin serves as an intracellular stop signal and controls what happens in a living cell – just as stop signs regulate traffic on the road. The term “ubiquitin” results from the fact that the molecules occur “ubiquitously” in all eukaryotic cells and control a multitude of different biochemical reactions, from cell division to the defence against bacterial infections. At any given time, each human cell contains thousands of ubiquitin molecules that must be properly placed in different, but specific locations. If their regulation is disturbed, this can lead to diseases such as cancer, neurodegenerative diseases or high blood pressure.  

Ubiquitin is an extremely small molecule and can only be seen with extreme magnification, such as under an electron microscope. Professor Brenda A. Schulman, Director of the Department of Molecular Machines and Signalling at the Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry in Martinsried, and her colleagues have developed numerous methods with which the ubiquitin system can be further investigated. They use approaches from chemistry, cell biology, mass spectrometry, biochemistry and structural biology. “I have the feeling that I have been on a treasure hunt for more than 20 years and that I can now finally see the treasure chest from a distance for the first time,” enthuses Brenda A. Schulman. “Thanks to the new methods, we are only now beginning to see the very first wonderful treasures. And since ubiquitin is so omnipresent, there is a whole treasure trove to discover. This is enormously exciting!”  

The 51-year-old researcher comes from Tucson, Arizona. She discovered her passion for chemistry and biology and for how molecules perform amazing processes back in the third year of high school. In addition to her research, she regularly runs and enjoys free time with her husband.

About the Awardee
Schulman received her Bachelor’s degree in Biology at the Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA. After her PhD at M.I.T. in 1996, Cambridge, MA, USA, she was a postdoc at Massachusetts General Hospital Boston, MA, USA and at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY, USA. In 2001, Schulman moved to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis, TN, USA. There she worked from 2005 to 2017 as a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator. In 2016, she became head of the department “Molecular Machines and Signaling“ at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry. Since October 2018, she is honorary professor at the TU Munich. She received various awards, among them the USA Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. She is an elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences in the USA, and the European Molecular Biology Organization.

About the Prize
The Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine is one of the highest endowed medical awards in Europe and is the foundation’s medical award with the longest tradition. It was issued for the first time in 1976. The Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine is currently endowed with €300,000 and is awarded to researchers who have contributed considerably to progress in human medicine with their projects and are also expected to do so in future. It honours work in the field of human medicine which is of particularly great clinical significance and may result in new, effective approaches to treatment being implemented in practice. The laureates of the Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine rank among the top representatives in their discipline. All of them have received other major awards over the course of their careers, including two Nobel Prizes for Medicine.

 
loading content
Go to Editor View

Weitere Informationen

Brenda Schulman, Ernst-Jung-Preisträgerin 2019

Kontakt

Brenda Schulman, Ph.D.
Brenda Schulman, Ph.D.
Direktorin
Telefon:+49 89 8578

MPI für Biochemie, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

Molekulare Maschinen und Signalwege

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI für Biochemie,
Am Klopferspitz 18,
82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Brenda Schulman erhält Ernst-Jung-Preis für Medizin 2019

23. Mai 2019

Brenda Schulman, Leiterin der Abteilung „Molekulare Maschinen und Signalwege“ am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried, erhält den Ernst Jung-Preis für Medizin 2019 zusammen mit dem Berliner Neurobiologen Gary R. Lewin. Das Preisgeld von 300.000 Euro teilen sich die beiden Wissenschaftler. Brenda Schulman erhält die Auszeichnung in Würdigung und Fortsetzung ihrer wegweisenden Arbeit über die Mechanismen des Ubiquitin-Transfers auf atomarer Ebene. Der Ernst Jung-Preis wird heute in Hamburg verliehen.

Einem „ubiquitären“ Molekül auf der Spur

Brenda Schulman, PhD Bild vergrößern

Brenda Schulman, PhD

Das Molekül Ubiquitin dient als intrazelluläres Stop-Signal und kontrolliert, was in einer lebenden Zelle vor sich geht – ebenso wie Stop-Zeichen den Verkehr auf der Straße regeln. Die Bezeichnung „Ubiquitin“ resultiert daraus, dass die Moleküle „ubiquitär“, also „überall verbreitet“ in allen eukaryotischen Zellen vorkommen und dort eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher biochemischer Reaktionen steuern, von der Zellteilung bis hin zur Abwehr bakterieller Infektionen. Zu jedem Zeitpunkt sind in jeder menschlichen Zelle Tausende Ubiquitin-Moleküle im Einsatz, die sich dazu an unterschiedliche spezifische Orte setzen müssen. Ist ihre Regulation gestört, kann dies zu Krankheiten führen, wie Krebs, neurodegenerative Erkrankungen oder hohem Blutdruck. Ubiquitin ist ein extrem kleines Molekül und kann nur unter extremer Vergrößerung im Elektronenmikroskop sichtbar gemacht werden.

Professor Dr. Brenda A. Schulman, Direktorin der Abteilung „Molekulare Maschinen und Signalwege“ am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried, hat gemeinsam mit ihren Kollegen zahlreiche Methoden entwickelt, mit denen sich das Ubiquitin-System darüber hinaus untersuchen lässt. Dabei bedienen sie sich Ansätzen aus Chemie, Zellbiologie, Massenspektrometrie, Biochemie und Strukturbiologie. „Ich habe das Gefühl, dass ich mehr als 20 Jahre lang auf Schatzsuche war und jetzt endlich zum ersten Mal die Schatztruhe aus der Ferne erkennen kann“, schwärmt Brenda A. Schulman. „Wir beginnen jetzt erst, dank der neuen Methoden, die allerersten wundervollen Schätze zu sehen. Und da Ubiquitin so allgegenwärtig ist, gibt es eine ganze Fundgrube an Schätzen zu entdecken. Das ist enorm aufregend!“

Die 51-jährige Forscherin stammt aus Tucson, Arizona. Bereits in ihrem dritten Highschool-Jahr entdeckte sie ihre Leidenschaft für die Chemie und Biologie und dafür, wie Moleküle erstaunliche Prozesse vollziehen. Neben ihrer Forschung geht sie regelmäßig Laufen und genießt die freie Zeit mit ihrem Ehemann.

Über die Preisträgerin
Schulman studierte Biologie an der Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA. Nach ihrer Promotion im Jahr 1996 am M.I.T., Cambridge, MA, USA, arbeitete sie als Postdoc am Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center, Boston, MA, USA und am Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY, USA. 2001 wechselte Schulman an das St. Jude‘s Children Research Hospital in Memphis, TN, USA und war hier von 2005 bis 2017 als „Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator“ tätig. Seit 2016 leitet Brenda Schulman die Abteilung „Molekulare Maschinen und Signalwege“ am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried bei München. Seit Oktober 2018 ist sie zudem Honorarprofessorin an der TU München. Schulman erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter den USA Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. Sie ist ein gewähltes Mitglied der American Academy of Arts and Sciences, der National Academy of Sciences in den USA und der Europäischen Organisation für Molekularbiologie.

Über den Preis
Der Ernst Jung-Preis für Medizin mit einer Preissumme von 300.000 Euro zählt zu den höchstdotierten Medizinpreisen Europas. Die Jung-Stiftung hat diesen traditionsreichen Medizinpreis zum ersten Mal 1976 vergeben. Er würdigt Forscher und ihre Projekte, die wesentlich zum Fortschritt der Humanmedizin beigetragen haben und dies auch in der Zukunft erwarten lassen.
Die Kandidaten für den Preis werden nominiert, eine eigenständige Bewerbung ist nicht möglich. Unter den Kandidaten wählt das Stiftungskuratorium, das sich aus sechs renommierten internationalen Wissenschaftlern zusammensetzt, jedes Jahr im November den Preisträger des Folgejahres aus. Dabei legen sie ihr Augenmerk auf Arbeiten, die von besonderer klinischer Relevanz sind und die Umsetzung in neue wirksame Therapieansätze erwarten lassen.
Die Preisträger des Ernst Jung-Preises für Medizin gehören zu den Spitzenvertretern ihres Fachs. Durchweg erhalten sie im Laufe ihrer Karriere weitere bedeutende Auszeichnungen, zwei von ihnen wurden gar mit dem Medizin-Nobelpreis ausgezeichnet.

 
loading content
Zur Redakteursansicht