Further Information

Wolfgang Baumeister has revolutionized molecular structural biology with the help of cryo-electron microscopy (in German)

Contact

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Baumeister
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Baumeister
Director
Phone:+49 89 8578-2642

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de/baumeister

Molecular Structural Biology

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Public Relations
Phone:+49 89 8578-2824
Email:pr@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Wolfgang Baumeister wins Stifterverbandspreis 2019

The biophysicist has revolutionized molecular structural biology with the help of cryo-electron tomography.

June 26, 2019

In contrast to our knowledge of our planet, there are still many unexplored regions in the cellular nanocosmos. The fragile architecture of large protein complexes composed of numerous subunits is particularly difficult to decipher. This is because attempting to isolate and purify the proteins also rips them out of their functional context. Wolfgang Baumeister has been pursuing a completely new approach for more than three decades. The director at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry has developed a method that opens up entirely new possibilities and numerous fields of application for structural research: cryo-electron tomography. He is now being recognized with the Wissenschaftspreis des Stifterverbands 2019 (Science Award of the Donors’ Association) for his pioneering work. The prize, which is endowed with € 50,000.00, was awarded by the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG) and the Stifterverband at the annual MPG meeting that took place in Hamburg on 25 June.

Wolfgang Baumeister Zoom Image
Wolfgang Baumeister

Wolfgang Baumeister is to be recognized for his outstanding achievements in the field of cryo-electron tomography. What is particularly notable here is his examination of molecular and supramolecular structures within the context of intact cells at high spatial resolutions. The jury explained that it was awarding the prize because of the method’s great economic relevance, which is evident in important areas of high technology, such as electronics, materials technology and pharmaceuticals. The cryo method allows larger spatial structures from cells to electronic components to be tomographically captured at very high resolutions and analyzed.

Pioneering work in the field of cryo-electron tomography
“We are developing methods to make the molecular architecture of cells visible,” said Wolfgang Baumeister summarizing his research focus. The cryo-electron tomography method that he has developed in conjunction with his team opens up completely new opportunities for structural research: Entire cells or cell organelles are ‘shock-frozen’ in liquid nitrogen in the blink of an eye. The fragile cell architecture remains unchanged while it is embedded in the glassy ice. Two-dimensional images of the samples to be examined are taken from different angles. A three-dimensional image is then built from these images. This method has already made it possible to understand the architecture of many proteins in their cellular environments.

Structural research using electron microscopes
“It is only possible to understand the various functions that the molecular machines are responsible for by examining their structures,” explained Baumeister. Using cryo-electron tomography, he and his team have been able to decipher the structure of the 26S proteasomes, which are highly complex molecular shredders for proteins that are made up of 66 individual proteins. He and his team have also been able to reveal the superior organization of the ribosomes in cells, the so-called polysomes. The researchers have now turned their attention to other cellular structures and are investigating the blueprints of pores in nuclear membranes, contact points between nerve cells (synapses) and protein complexes in membranes and cell walls. It is possible to use cryo-electron tomography to image these macromolecular structures in the intact cellular environment. Pathological changes, such as toxic protein aggregates that are mainly associated with such neurodegenerative diseases as Alzheimer's and Parkinson's, may also be investigated in this way. This method that has been developed in basic research is potentially able to open up new prospects for therapies by providing insights into cell architectures.

 

 
loading content
Go to Editor View

Weitere Informationen

Wolfgang Baumeister revolutioniert mit Kryo-Elektronentomographie die molekulare Strukturbiologie

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Baumeister
Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Baumeister
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2642

www.biochem.mpg.de/baumeister

Molekulare Strukturbiologie

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI für Biochemie,
Am Klopferspitz 18,
82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Pionier der Mikroskopie: Wolfgang Baumeister erhält Stifterverbandspreis 2019

Der Biophysiker hat mit der Kryo-Elektronentomographie die molekulare Strukturbiologie revolutioniert

26. Juni 2019

Anders als im Atlas unseres Planeten finden sich im zellulären Nanokosmos noch viele weiße Flecken. Die fragile Architektur großer, aus zahlreichen Untereinheiten aufgebauter Proteinkomplexe ist besonders schwer zu entschlüsseln. Ihre Isolation und Aufreinigung reißt die Proteine zudem aus ihrem funktionellen Zusammenhang. Einen komplett neuen Ansatz verfolgt Wolfgang Baumeister – und das bereits seit über drei Jahrzehnten. Der Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie hat eine Methode entwickelt, die der Strukturforschung ganz neue Möglichkeiten und zahlreiche Anwendungsfelder eröffnet: die Kryo-Elektronentomographie. Für seine Pionierarbeit erhält er nun den Wissenschaftspreis 2019. Der mit 50.000 Euro dotierte Preis wurde am 25. Juni von der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG) gemeinsam mit dem Stifterverband im Rahmen der MPG-Jahresversammlung in Hamburg verliehen.

Wolfgang Baumeister Bild vergrößern
Wolfgang Baumeister

Wolfgang Baumeister wird für seine Spitzenleistungen auf dem Gebiet der Kryo-Elektronentomographie geehrt. Das Besondere: Molekulare und supramolekulare Strukturen werden im Kontext intakter Zellen mit hoher räumlicher Auflösung untersucht. Die Jury begründet die Auszeichnung mit der hohen wirtschaftlichen Relevanz der Methode, die sich in wichtigen Gebieten der Hochtechnologie, wie der Elektronik, der Materialtechnik und der Pharmazie, zeigt. Mithilfe der Kryo-Methode können größere räumliche Strukturen von Zellen bis hin zu elektronischen Bauelementen tomographisch erfasst und mit höchster Auflösung analysiert werden.

Pionierleistungen auf dem Gebiet der Kryo-Elektronentomographie
„Wir entwickeln Methoden, um die molekulare Architektur von Zellen sichtbar zu machen“, fasst Baumeister seinen Forschungsschwerpunkt zusammen. Die von ihm und seinem Team entwickelte Methode der Kryo-Elektronentomographie eröffnet der Strukturforschung ganz neue Möglichkeiten: Ganze Zellen oder Zellorganellen werden blitzartig in flüssigem Stickstoff ‚schockgefroren’. Eingebettet in glasartiges Eis bleibt jetzt die fragile Zellarchitektur unverändert erhalten. Von den zu untersuchenden Proben werden zweidimensionale Bilder aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln aufgenommen. Aus diesen Bildern wird dann ein dreidimensionales Bild rekonstruiert. Dank dieser Technik ist die Architektur vieler Proteine in ihrem zellulären Umfeld schon geklärt.

Strukturforschung mit dem Elektronenmikroskop
„Die vielfältigen Funktionen der molekularen Maschinen erschließen sich nur über deren Struktur“, erklärt Baumeister. Er und sein Team konnten unter anderem mit Hilfe der Kryo-Elektronentomographie die Struktur des 26S Proteasoms, eines hochkomplexen molekularen Schredders für Proteine, bestehend aus 66 Einzelproteinen, entschlüsseln. Auch die übergeordnete Organisation der Ribosomen in der Zelle, sogenannte Polysomen, konnte er und sein Team zeigen. Die Forscher widmen sich nun weiteren zellulären Strukturen und untersuchen die Baupläne der Poren in Kernhüllen, Kontaktstellen zwischen Nervenzellen (Synapsen) oder Proteinkomplexen in Membranen und Zellwänden. Mithilfe der Kryo-Elektronentomographie können diese makromolekularen Strukturen im intakten zellulären Umfeld abgebildet werden. Auch pathologische Veränderungen, wie toxische Proteinaggregate, die vor allem mit neurodegenerativen Krankheiten wie Alzheimer und Parkinson assoziiert sind, können so untersucht werden. Durch die Einblicke in die Zellarchitektur kann die in der Grundlagenforschung entwickelte Methode potentiell neue Perspektiven für Therapien liefern.

 
loading content
Zur Redakteursansicht