Contact

Prof. Jürgen Cox, PhD
Prof. Jürgen Cox, PhD
Group Leader
Phone:+49 89 8578-2088
Email:cox@...

MPI of Biochemistry,
Am Klopferspitz 18,
82152 Martinsried

Computional Systems Biochemistry

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Public Relations
Phone:+49 89 8578-2824
Email:pr@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Jürgen Cox receives Gilbert S. Omenn Computational Proteomics Award

January 29, 2019

Jürgen Cox, head of the research group „Computational Systems Biochemistry“ at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried near Munich receives the Gilbert S. Omenn Computational Proteomics Award 2019. This award acknowledges the specific achievements of scientists that have developed bioinformatics, computational and statistical methods or software used by the proteomics community. Cox and his team developed the software platforms MaxQuant and Perseus. “The developments in this field are impressive and computational approaches are important to reach the goals in the proteomic analysis. I am very proud to receive the prize”, says Cox. The Prize will be awarded at the US Human Proteome Organization (HUPO) Conference in Washington DC, USA, in March.

Jürgen Cox Zoom Image
Jürgen Cox

About the Awardee
Jürgen Cox dedicates his work to the development of computational approaches to analyze large scale data in the field of proteomics. Together with his team he developed the software platforms MaxQuant and Perseus. MaxQuant enables the analysis of large mass spectrometric data sets. Perseus supports researchers in the interpretation of protein quantification and interaction data as well as data on post-translational modifications.

Cox studied physics in Aachen and received his PhD from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA. After a Postdoc at the Technical University of Munich, he became a Senior Scientific Consultant for the bioinformatics company Genedata. In 2006, he joined the MPIB as a senior scientist and has been the independent leader of the research group “Computational Systems Biochemistry” since 2014. Cox was appointed as Honorary Professor of Proteomics at the University of Copenhagen, Denmark, in 2013.

About the Gilbert S. Omenn Computational Proteomics Award
This award recognizes the essential nature of computational methodology and software in proteomics. Specifically, this award acknowledges the specific achievements of scientists that have developed bioinformatics, computational, statistical methods or software used by the proteomics community, broadly defined. The award is named in honor of Gil Omenn, a US HUPO Past President, leader of the Human Proteome Project, and influential proteomics researcher. The award recipient will be honored at the US HUPO annual conference with a commemorative plaque and cash award of $2,500, and will present an award lecture.

 
loading content
Go to Editor View

Kontakt

Prof. Jürgen Cox, PhD
Prof. Jürgen Cox, PhD
Group Leader
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2088
E-Mail:cox@...

MPI of Biochemistry,
Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

http://www.biochem.mpg.de/cox

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI für Biochemie, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Jürgen Cox erhält Gilbert S. Omenn Computational Proteomics Award

29. Januar 2019

Jürgen Cox, Leiter der Forschungsgruppe „Computational Systems Biochemistry“ am Max-Plank-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried erhält den Gilbert S. Omenn Computational Proteomics Award 2019. Die Auszeichnung würdigt die besonderen Leistungen von Forschern, die computergestützte und statistische Methoden oder Software entwickelt haben, die von der Proteomics-Community verwendet werden. Cox und sein Team entwickeln die Softwareplattformen MaxQuant und Perseus. „Die Entwicklungen auf diesem Gebiet sind beeindruckend und computergestützte Methoden sind wichtig, um die Ziele der Proteomischen Forschung zu erreichen. Ich freue mich sehr über den Preis“, sagt Cox. Der Preis wird im März auf der Konferenz der „Human Proteome Organization“ in Washington DC, USA, verliehen.

Jürgen Cox Bild vergrößern
Jürgen Cox

Über den Preisträger
Jürgen Cox widmet seine Arbeit der Entwicklung der computergestützten Analyse von Daten im Bereich der Proteomic. Zusammen mit seinem Team hat er die Softwareplattformen MaxQuant und Perseus entwickelt.  MaxQuant ermöglicht die Analyse von großen massenspektrometrischen Datensätzen. Perseus unterstützt Forscher bei der Interpretation von Proteinquantifizierungs- und Interaktionsdaten sowie Daten zu posttranslationalen Modifikationen.

Cox studierte Physik in Aachen und promovierte am Massachusetts Institute of Technology in den USA. Nach einem Postdoc an der TU München war er als leitender wissenschaftlicher Berater in der Bioinformatikfirma Genedata tätig. Seit 2006 forscht Cox am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie und leitet seit 2014 die Forschungsgruppe „Computational System Biochemistry“. Seit 2013 ist er zudem Honorarprofessor für Proteomik an der Universität Kopenhagen in Dänemark.

Über den Gilbert S. Omenn Computational Proteomics Preis
Der Gilbert S. Omenn Computation Proteomics Preis ehrt Wissenschaftler die Entwicklungen von computergestützten Verfahren und Software im Bereich der Proteomik vorangetrieben haben. Die Verfahren sind in der Proteomics-Forschung von essentieller Bedeutung. Der Preis wurde zu Ehren von Gil Omenn, ehemaliger Präsident der amerikanischen Human Proteome Organization (HUPO) und einflussreicher Proteomik-Forscher, benannt. Der Preis wird auf der US-amerikanischen HUPO-Jahreskonferenz überreicht.

 
loading content
Zur Redakteursansicht