Brenda Schulman receives the Leibniz Prize 2019

December 06, 2018

Brenda Schulman, head of the department „Molecular Machines and Signaling“ at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried receives the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2019. It comes with a funding of 2.5 million Euros. The Leibniz Prize honors her important work on the molecular mechanisms of the Ubiquitin System. „I am extremely honored to receive this award and I would like to express my deepest gratitude to the DFG and the selection committee“, says Schulman. The Leibniz-Prize will be awarded on March 13, 2019 in Berlin.

Brenda Schulman, PhD

Schulman’s work focuses on some of the most important molecular switches in cells. She studies how proteins, which are some of the major molecules controlling biological processes, can switch to carry out different cellular functions and how proteins get deactivated. The small molecule ubiquitin can induce these crucial activity changes by binding to a target protein. Ubiquitin may change the targeted protein’s stability, its cellular location, its enzyme activity or its interaction with other molecules. This is of fundamental importance, because dysregulation of the ubiquitin system is associated with cancers, neurodegenerative diseases, and infections.

Schulman received her Bachelor’s degree in Biology at the Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA. After her PhD at M.I.T. in 1996, Cambridge, MA, USA, she was a postdoc at Massachusetts General Hospital Boston, MA, USA and at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY, USA. In 2001, Schulman moved to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis, TN, USA. There she worked from 2005 to 2017 as a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator. In 2016, she became head of the department “Molecular Machines and Signaling“ at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry. Since October 2018, she is honorary professor at the TU Munich. She received various awards, among them the USA Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. She is an elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences in the USA, and the European Molecular Biology Organization.

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2019 is awarded to a total of four female scientists and six male scientists, three of them working with the Max Planck Society. Schulman was chosen by a selection committee from 122 proposals. The prize money of 2.5 million euros can be used for up to seven years for her research work. Brenda Schulman is the fifth director of the institute to receive the Leibniz Prize, after F.-Ulrich Hartl (2002), Elena Conti (2008), Petra Schwille (2010) and Matthias Mann (2012).

About the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry
The Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry (MPIB) belongs to the Max Planck Society, an independent, non-profit research organization dedicated to top level basic research. As one of the largest Institutes of the Max Planck Society, around 800 employees from 45 nations work here in the field of life sciences. In currently eight departments and about 25 research groups, the scientists contribute to the newest findings in the areas of biochemistry, cell biology, structural biology, biophysics and molecular science. The MPIB in Munich-Martinsried is part of the local life-science-campus where two Max Planck Institutes, a Helmholtz Center, the Gene-Center, several bio-medical faculties of two Munich universities and several biotech-companies are located in close proximity. http://biochem.mpg.de

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View

Kontakt

Prof. Brenda Schulman, Ph.D.
Prof. Brenda Schulman, Ph.D.
Director
Telefon:+49 89 8578

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

Molecular Machines and Signaling

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Public Relations
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Brenda Schulman erhält Leibniz-Preis 2019

6. Dezember 2018

Brenda Schulman, Leiterin der Abteilung „Molekulare Maschinen und Signalwege“ am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried, erhält den Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis 2019. Dieser ist mit 2,5 Millionen Euro dotiert. Der Leibniz-Preis ehrt ihre bedeutende Arbeit zum molekularen Mechanismus des Ubiquitin-Systems. „Es ist mir eine große Ehre, diese Auszeichnung zu erhalten. Ich möchte der DFG und dem Auswahlausschuss mein herzliches Dankeschön aussprechen“, sagt Schulman. Die Leibniz-Preise werden am 13. März 2019 in Berlin verliehen.

Brenda Schulman, PhD Bild vergrößern

Brenda Schulman, PhD

Schulmans Arbeit konzentriert sich auf einige der wichtigsten molekularen Protein-Schalter in Zellen. Proteine sind die entscheidenden Moleküle, die biologische Prozesse steuern. Sie untersucht, wie Proteine geschaltet werden können, um unterschiedliche zelluläre Funktionen auszuüben und wie Proteine deaktiviert werden. Das kleine Molekül Ubiquitin kann diese entscheidenden Aktivitätsänderungen durch Bindung an ein Zielprotein auslösen. Es kann die Stabilität des Zielproteins, seinen zellulären Standort, seine Enzymaktivität oder seine Wechselwirkung mit anderen Molekülen verändern. Dies ist von grundlegender Bedeutung, da die Fehlregulierung des Ubiquitin-Systems mit Krebs, neurodegenerativen Erkrankungen und Infektionen zusammenhängt.

Schulman studierte Biologie an der Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA. Nach ihrer Promotion im Jahr 1996 am M.I.T., Cambridge, MA, USA, arbeitete sie als Postdoc am Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center, Boston, MA, USA und am Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY, USA. 2001 wechselte Schulman an das St. Jude‘s Children Research Hospital in Memphis, TN, USA und war hier von 2005 bis 2017 als „Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator“ tätig. Seit 2016 leitet Brenda Schulman die Abteilung „Molekulare Maschinen und Signalwege“ am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried bei München. Seit Oktober 2018 ist sie zudem Honorarprofessorin an der TU München. Schulman erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter den USA Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. Sie ist ein gewähltes Mitglied der American Academy of Arts and Sciences, der National Academy of Sciences in den USA und der Europäischen Organisation für Molekularbiologie.

Der Gottfried Wilhelm-Leibnitz-Preis 2019 geht an insgesamt vier Wissenschaftlerinnen und sechs Wissenschaftler, drei davon aus der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft. Schulman wurde durch einen Auswahlausschuss aus 122 Vorschlägen ausgewählt. Das Preisgeld von 2,5 Millionen Euro kann bis zu sieben Jahre lang für Ihre Forschungsarbeit verwendet werden. Brenda Schulman ist nach F.-Ulrich Hartl (2002), Elena Conti (2008), Petra Schwille (2010) und Matthias Mann (2012) die fünfte Direktorin am Institut, die den Leibniz-Preis erhält.

Über das Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie
Das Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie (MPIB) in Martinsried bei München zählt zu den führenden internationalen Forschungseinrichtungen auf den Gebieten der Biochemie, Zell- und Strukturbiologie sowie der biomedizinischen Forschung und ist mit rund 35 wissenschaftlichen Abteilungen und Forschungsgruppen und ungefähr 800 Mitarbeitern eines der größten Institute der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften e.V. Das MPIB befindet sich auf dem Life-Science-Campus Martinsried in direkter Nachbarschaft zu dem Max-Planck-Institut für Neurobiologie, Instituten der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und dem Innovations- und Gründerzentrum Biotechnologie (IZB). http://biochem.mpg.de

 
loading content
Zur Redakteursansicht