Contact

Prof. Dr. Franz-Ulrich Hartl
Prof. Dr. Franz-Ulrich Hartl
Director
Phone:+49 89 8578-2244Fax:+49 89 8578-2211

Cellular Biochemistry

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Public Relations
Phone:+49 89 8578-2824
Email:pr@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research for F.-Ulrich Hartl

June 03, 2019

F.-Ulrich Hartl, Director at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, and Arthur Horwich of Yale School of Medicine and Howard Hughes Medical Institute were named winners of the 2019 Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research. Selected by an independent committee of world-renowned scientists, Hartl and Horwich won for their revolutionary insights into chaperone-mediated protein folding. Hartl expresses his delight to have been selected as one of the winners of the Dr. Paul Janssen Award. “This is a fantastic honor and recognition of the work of my laboratory”, he says. The award includes a $200,000 prize and will be presented at ceremonies in the USA and Belgium in September.

F.-Ulrich Hartl Zoom Image
F.-Ulrich Hartl

Proteins are the molecules in cells that drive almost every biological process. Through their collaboration, Hartl and Horwich discovered that proteins are folded into their proper shape with the help of other specialized proteins called molecular chaperones. This process allows the proteins to reach their functional shape, which enables them to perform their biological function. These insights have broad implications throughout biology and medicine, and hold promise for the development of new therapeutic strategies for treating diseases like Parkinson’s, Alzheimer’s and cancer, in which defects in protein folding are involved. 

“Drs. Hartl and Horwich combined their brilliant insights and elegant approaches to overturn the dogma of their day about the process of protein folding,” said David Julius, Chair of the 2019 Dr. Paul Janssen Award selection committee. “Their studies revolutionized our understanding of how proteins achieve their shape and revealed how defects in this process may contribute to a variety of disorders ranging from metabolic to neurodegenerative diseases.

Dr. Paul Janssen Awardee 2019 F.-Ulrich Hartl

About F.-Ulrich Hartl
F.-Ulrich Hartl was born in 1957. He studied Medicine at the University of Heidelberg, where he also obtained his doctoral degree. Hartl joined Walter Neupert’s research group at LMU as a postdoc and then became a group leader in Neupert’s department. A fellowship from the German Research Foundation (DFG) enabled him to undertake research at the University of California, Los Angeles. He did research as a Professor and Howard Hughes Medical Investigator at the Sloan Kettering Institute and Cornell University in New York, USA. In 1997, the Max Planck Society succeeded in enticing the renowned scientist back to Germany. Since then, he has been Director and head of the Department of Cellular Biochemistry at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry. Within the last years he was honored with multiple scientific prizes including 2002 the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize, 2011 the Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research, 2012 the Shaw Prize together with Horwich and 2016 the Albany Medical Center-Prize together with Horwich and Susan Lee Lindquist. In 2018, Hartl was inducted into the Hall of Fame of German Research.

Further information on research by F.-Ulrich Hartl
Movie: Protein Folding (German)
Movie: Chaperones - Folding helpers in the cell (English)

About the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry
The Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry (MPIB) belongs to the Max Planck Society, an independent, non-profit research organization dedicated to top level basic research. As one of the largest Institutes of the Max Planck Society, 850 employees from 45 nations work here in the field of life sciences. In currently eight departments and about 25 research groups, the scientists contribute to the newest findings in the areas of biochemistry, cell biology, structural biology, biophysics and molecular science. The MPIB in Munich-Martinsried is part of the local life-science-campus where two Max Planck Institutes, a Helmholtz Center, the Gene-Center, several bio-medical faculties of two Munich universities and several biotech-companies are located in close proximity. http://www.biochem.mpg.de

About the Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research
The Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research was established by Johnson & Johnson in 2004 to honor the memory of Paul Janssen – founder of Janssen Pharmaceutica. Since its inception, the Award has recognized 16 outstanding scientists, three of whom have gone on to win the Nobel Prize for the same work. Winners are chosen by an independent selection committee of the world’s most renowned scientists. The Award, which includes a $200,000 prize, is presented at ceremonies in the U.S. and Belgium in September. http://www.pauljanssenaward.com/

 
loading content
Go to Editor View

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. F.-Ulrich Hartl
Prof. Dr. F.-Ulrich Hartl
E-Mail:uhartl@...

MPI für Biochemie, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de/hartl

Zelluläre Biochemie

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI für Biochemie,
Am Klopferspitz 18,
82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

F.-Ulrich Hartl erhält Dr. Paul Janssen-Preis 2019

3. Juni 2019

F.-Ulrich Hartl, Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie, und Arthur Horwich von der Yale School of Medicine und Howard Hughes Medical Institute wurden zu Gewinnern des Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research 2019 gekürt. Hartl und Horwich, die von einem unabhängigen Komitee aus renommierten Wissenschaftlern ausgewählt wurden, gewannen für ihre revolutionären Erkenntnisse über die von Chaperonen vermittelte Proteinfaltung. Hartl freut sich, als einer der Gewinner des Dr. Paul Janssen-Preis ausgewählt worden zu sein. „Das ist eine fantastische Ehre und Anerkennung für die Arbeit meines Labors“, sagt er. Die Auszeichnung ist mit einem Preisgeld von 200.000 US-Dollar dotiert und wird im September bei Feierlichkeiten in den USA und Belgien verliehen.

F.-Ulrich Hartl Bild vergrößern
F.-Ulrich Hartl

Proteine sind die Moleküle in Zellen, die fast jeden biologischen Prozess antreiben. Durch ihre Zusammenarbeit entdeckten Hartl und Horwich, dass Proteine mit Hilfe anderer spezialisierter Proteine, den molekularen Chaperonen, in ihre richtige Form gefaltet werden. Dieser Prozess ermöglicht es den Proteinen, ihre biologisch funktionelle Form zu erreichen. Diese Erkenntnisse haben breite Auswirkungen auf die gesamte Biologie und Medizin und versprechen die Entwicklung neuer therapeutischer Strategien zur Behandlung von Krankheiten wie Parkinson, Alzheimer und Krebs, an denen Defekte in der Proteinfaltung beteiligt sind.

„Hartl und Horwich haben ihre brillanten Einsichten und eleganten Ansätze kombiniert, um das Dogma ihrer Zeit über den Prozess der Proteinfaltung zu widerlegen“, sagte David Julius, Vorsitzender der Auswahlkommission des Dr. Paul Janssen Award 2019. „Ihre Studien haben unser Verständnis davon, wie Proteine ihre Form erreichen, revolutioniert. Sie haben gezeigt, wie Defekte in diesem Prozess zu einer Vielzahl von Störungen beitragen können, die von metabolischen bis hin zu neurodegenerativen Krankheiten reichen.“

Dr. Paul Janssen-Preisträger 2019 F.-Ulrich Hartl

Über F.-Ulrich Hartl
F.-Ulrich Hartl wurde 1957 geboren und studierte Medizin an der Universität Heidelberg, wo er anschließend auch promovierte. Als wissenschaftlicher Assistent und dann Gruppenleiter wechselte er zu Walter Neupert an die Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Ein Stipendium der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft ermöglichte ihm einen ersten Forschungsaufenthalt an der University of California, Los Angeles. Als Professor und Investigator des Howard Hughes Medical Institute war er am Sloan-Kettering Institute und an der Cornell University in New York tätig. Im Jahr 1997 gelang es der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft den hochrangigen Wissenschaftler wieder nach Deutschland zurückzuholen. Seither leitet er am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie die Abteilung „Zelluläre Biochemie“. In den letzten Jahren wurden ihm eine Vielzahl von Wissenschaftspreisen zuerkannt, unter anderem, 2002 der Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Preis, 2011 der Albert-Lasker-Preis für grundlagenmedizinische Forschung, 2012 der Shaw-Preis zusammen mit Arthur L. Horwich und 2016 der Albany Medical Center-Preis zusammen mit Horwich und Susan Lee Lindquist. 2018 wurde Hartl in die Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung aufgenommen.

Weitere Informationen zur Forschung von F.-Ulrich Hartl
Film: Chaperone - die Proteinfaltung
Film: Chaperone – Faltungshelfer in der Zelle

Über das Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie
Das Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie (MPIB) in Martinsried bei München zählt zu den führenden internationalen Forschungseinrichtungen auf den Gebieten der Biochemie, Zell- und Strukturbiologie sowie der biomedizinischen Forschung und ist mit rund 35 wissenschaftlichen Abteilungen und Forschungsgruppen und ungefähr 800 Mitarbeitern eines der größten Institute der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften e.V. Das MPIB befindet sich auf dem Life-Science-Campus Martinsried in direkter Nachbarschaft zu dem Max-Planck-Institut für Neurobiologie, Instituten der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München und dem Innovations- und Gründerzentrum Biotechnologie (IZB).
http://www.biochem.mpg.de

Über den Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research
Der Dr. Paul Janssen Award for Biomedical Research wurde 2004 von Johnson & Johnson ins Leben gerufen, um das Andenken an Paul Janssen - den Gründer von Janssen Pharmaceutica - zu ehren. Seit seiner Gründung hat der Preis 16 herausragende Wissenschaftler ausgezeichnet, von denen drei für die gleiche Arbeit den Nobelpreis erhalten haben. Die Gewinner werden von einer unabhängigen Auswahlkommission aus den renommiertesten Wissenschaftlern der Welt ausgewählt. Die Auszeichnung, die ein Preisgeld von 200.000 US-Dollar beinhaltet, wird im September bei Feierlichkeiten in den USA und Belgien verliehen.
http://www.pauljanssenaward.com/

 
loading content
Zur Redakteursansicht