Kontakt

Prof. Dr. F.-Ulrich Hartl
Prof. Dr. F.-Ulrich Hartl

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de/hartl

Cellular Biochemistry

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Phone:+49 89 8578-2824
Email:pr@...

MPI für Biochemie, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Paul Ehrlich- and Ludwig Darmstaedter-Prize for F.-Ulrich Hartl

January 16, 2019

F.-Ulrich Hartl, Director at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried near Munich, is awarded the Paul Ehrlich- and Ludwig Darmstaedter-Prize 2019 together with Arthur L. Horwich.  of Yale School of Medicine/HHMI.The biochemist Hartl and the geneticist Horwich are honored for their pioneering work in the field of cellular protein chemistry. Their collaboration helped unravel the molecular machinery that assists protein folding. The prize will be awarded on March 14 in the St. Paul‘s Church in Frankfurt and is endowed with 120,000 EUR.

F.-Ulrich Hartl Zoom Image

F.-Ulrich Hartl

Proteins are small molecular machines within each cell and take over a variety of tasks. Newly produced immature chain-like proteins have to fold into a specific, three-dimensional structure. In the 1980s, Hartl and colleagues, in collaboration with Horwich, demonstrated that proteins do not fold spontaneously. Rather, they need assistance in their folding process by so-called molecular chaperones. At the time, this finding contradicted the general dogma.

The scientists discovered that certain chaperones are cage-like ‘folding machines’. They offer a protected environment to newly produced proteins, allowing them to fold into their correct functional structure. Misfolded proteins clump together to form toxic aggregates and are one of the main causes of severe neurodegenerative disorders such as Alzheimer’s disease or Parkinson’s disease. Furthermore, protein misfolding plays an essential role in aging.

The Paul Ehrlich and Ludwig Darmstaedter Prize honors scientists who have earned particular merit in the fields of research represented by Paul Ehrlich.

About F.-Ulrich Hartl
F.-Ulrich Hartl was born in 1957. He studied Medicine at the University of Heidelberg, where he also obtained his doctoral degree. Hartl joined Walter Neupert’s research group at LMU as a postdoc and then became a group leader in Neupert’s department. A fellowship from the German Research Foundation (DFG) enabled him to undertake research at the University of California, Los Angeles. He did research as a Professor and Howard Hughes Medical Investigator at the Sloan Kettering Institute and Cornell University in New York, USA. In 1997, the Max Planck Society succeeded in enticing the renowned scientist back to Germany. Since then, he has been Director and head of the Department of Cellular Biochemistry at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry. Within the last years he was honored with multiple scientific prizes including 2002 the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize, 2011 the Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research, 2012 the Shaw Prize together with Horwich and 2016 the Albany Medical Center-Prize together with Horwich and Susan Lee Lindquist. In 2018, Hartl was inducted into the Hall of Fame of German Research.

Further information can be found in the press release of the Paul Ehrlich Foundation: hier

 
loading content
Go to Editor View

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. F.-Ulrich Hartl
Prof. Dr. F.-Ulrich Hartl
E-Mail:uhartl@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de/hartl

Cellular Biochemistry

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI für Biochemie,
Am Klopferspitz 18,
82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

F.-Ulrich Hartl erhält Paul Ehrlich- und Ludwig Darmstaedter-Preis 2019

16. Januar 2019

F.-Ulrich Hartl, Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried bei München, erhält dieses Jahr zusammen mit Arthur L. Horwich den renommierten Paul Ehrlich- und Ludwig Darmstaedter-Preis 2019. Hartl und sein US-amerikanischer Kollege Horwich von der Yale School of Medicine und dem Howard Hughes Medical Institute wird der Preis am 14. März in der  Frankfurter Paulskirche überreicht. Der Preis ist mit 120.000 EUR dotiert. Die beiden Forscher werden für ihre Pionierarbeit in der Erforschung der Proteinfaltung geehrt.

F.-Ulrich Hartl Bild vergrößern

F.-Ulrich Hartl

Proteine sind kleine molekulare Maschinen in den Zellen und übernehmen eine Vielzahl von Funktionen. Dafür müssen neu hergestellte Proteine in eine spezifische, dreidimensionale Struktur gefaltet werden. In den achtziger Jahren zeigte Hartl zusammen mit Kollegen, dass sich neu hergestellte Proteine nicht spontan in ihre funktionale Form falten, sondern Proteinfaltungs-helfer, die Chaperone, benötigen. Dies widersprach der damals gängigen Meinung.

Die Forscher entdeckten, dass bestimmte Chaperone käfigähnliche „Faltungsmaschinen“ sind. Diese Chaperone bieten den neu hergestellten Proteinen eine schützende Umgebung. Dort können sich die Proteine in ihre funktionelle Form falten. Fehlgefaltete Proteine sind eine Hauptursache für schwerwiegende neurodegenerative Erkrankungen wie Alzheimer oder Parkinson. Des Weiteren spielen Fehler in der Proteinfaltung eine entscheidende Rolle beim Altern.

Der Paul Ehrlich- und Ludwig Darmstaetdter-Preis ehrt Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler, die sich auf den von Paul Ehrlich vertretenen Forschungsgebieten besondere Verdienste erworben haben.

Über F.-Ulrich Hartl
F.-Ulrich Hartl wurde 1957 geboren und studierte Medizin an der Universität Heidelberg, wo er anschließend auch promovierte. Als wissenschaftlicher Assistent und dann Gruppenleiter wechselte er zu Walter Neupert an die Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Ein Stipendium der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft ermöglichte ihm einen ersten Forschungsaufenthalt an der University of California, Los Angeles. Als Professor und Investigator des Howard Hughes Medical Institute war er am Sloan-Kettering Institute und an der Cornell University in New York tätig. Im Jahr 1997 gelang es der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft den hochrangigen Wissenschaftler wieder nach Deutschland zurückzuholen. Seither leitet er am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie die Abteilung „Zelluläre Biochemie“. In den letzten Jahren wurden ihm eine Vielzahl von Wissenschaftspreisen zuerkannt, unter anderem, 2002 der Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Preis, 2011 der Albert-Lasker-Preis für grundlagenmedizinische Forschung und 2012 der Shaw-Preis zusammen mit Arthur L. Horwich und 2016 der Albany Medical Center-Preis zusammen mit Horwich und Susan Lee Lindquist. 2018 wurde Hartl in die Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung aufgenommen.

Weitere Informationen finden sie in der Pressemeldung der Paul-Ehrlich-Stiftung:hier

 
loading content
Zur Redakteursansicht