Advanced ERC Grant for Brenda Schulman

Brenda Schulman, head of the department „Molecular Machines and Signaling“ at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried receives the Advanced Grant of the European Research Council. It comes with a funding of 2.2 million Euros over five years. Together with her team, Schulman wants to find out the numerous ways the ubiquitin-like protein NEDD8 activates hundreds of distinct but related ubiquitin ligase machineries. The understanding of these protein machineries on structural, functional, and cellular levels will help to understand a large family of regulatory complexes that controla major part of eukaryotic biology, like immunity or cell division and thereby plays a central role in many diseases.

Brenda Schulman, PhD

Proteins are the workhorses of cells. Different types of work are done by different types of proteins, ranging from enzymes that digest food to components of muscle. In order for proteins to work properly, they need to be switched on when needed and off when their jobs are done. A major way that proteins are switched off is by marking them with another small protein called “ubiquitin”. Just like there are many different proteins, there are also hundreds of different molecular machines called E3 ligases that execute tagging with ubiquitin. Therefore, it is essential that E3 ligases are themselves turned on and off at the right place and at the right time in cells.

The “on-switch” for about one-third of all E3 ligases is a small protein that looks like ubiquitin, but is called NEDD8. "Although we know the components of many E3 ligases, we don’t know how NEDD8 causes them to assemble from all their parts at the right time and place in a cell, or how NEDD8 causes them to be able to transfer ubiquitin," says Schulman. Using a multidisciplinary approach, the researchers want to understand everything NEDD8 does to activate E3 ligases, the mode of operation of the activated ubiquitin ligase machineries, and how NEDD8 causes other molecular machines to turn off the ubiquitin-marked proteins.

"We know that without NEDD8, much of the whole machinery of ubiquitination comes to a standstill. Accordingly, it has to perform essential tasks alongside other components, "says Schulman. "Ultimately we want to understand this in such detail like in a film, we want to visualize the single steps in individual electron microscopic images three-dimensional and put them in order to understand the dynamic step-by-step progression through the process" summarizes Schulman.

About Brenda Schulman
Schulman did her Bachelor’s degree in Biology at the Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA. After her PhD at M.I.T. in 1996, Cambridge, MA, USA, she spent five years as a postdoc, at Masschusetts General Hospital Boston, MA, USA and at the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NY, USA. 2001, Schulman moved to the St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis, TN, USA. Here she worked from 2005 and 2017 as Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator. Since 2016, Brenda Schulman is head of the department “Molecular Machines and Signaling“ at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry. She received various awards, among them the USA Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. She became a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and of the National Academy of Sciences.

About the ERC
The European Research Council, set up by the European Union in 2007, is the first European funding organisation for excellent frontier research. Every year, it selects and funds the very best, creative researchers of any nationality and age, to run projects based in Europe. The ERC has three core grant schemes: Starting Grants, Consolidator Grants and Advanced Grants. The Advanced Grant is for well-established top researchers, who are scientifically independent and with a recent high-level research track-record and profile which identifies them as leaders in their respective field(s). More information you find here.

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View

Kontakt

Prof. Brenda Schulman, Ph.D.
Prof. Brenda Schulman, Ph.D.
Director
Telefon:+49 89 8578

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

Molecular Machines and Signaling

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI für Biochemie, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Advanced ERC Grant für Brenda Schulman

16. April 2018

Brenda Schulman, Direktorin am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie und Leiterin der Abteilung „Molekulare Maschinen und Signalwege“ in Martinsried erhält den Advanced Grant des Europäischen Forschungsrates (ERC). Über einen Zeitraum von fünf Jahren bekommt Schulman rund 2.2 Millionen Euro für Ihre Forschung. Zusammen mit ihrem Team möchte sie herausfinden, auf welch vielfältige Weise das Ubiquitin-ähnliche Protein NEDD8 hunderte verschiedene, aber miteinander verwandte, Ubiquitin Ligase Maschinerien aktiviert. Die strukturelle, funktionelle und zelluläre Analyse wird helfen eine große Familie an regulatorischen Komplexen der eukaryotischen Biologie zu verstehen. Diese Ubiquitin Ligase Maschinerien regulieren zellulären Vorgänge wie Immunantworten oder die Zellteilung und spielen somit in vielen Krankheiten eine wichtige Rolle.

Brenda Schulman, PhD Bild vergrößern

Brenda Schulman, PhD

Proteine sind die Arbeitspferde der Zelle. Verschiedene Arten von Arbeit werden von verschiedenen Proteinen erledigt. Das reicht von Proteinen, die als Enzyme Essen verdauen bis hin zu Proteinen, die Bestandteile von Muskeln sind. Damit die Proteine korrekt arbeiten, müssen sie bei Bedarf an, aber auch bei erledigter Arbeit ausgeschalten werden. Ein wichtiger Weg, Proteine auszuschalten, besteht darin, sie mit einem anderen kleinen Protein namens "Ubiquitin" zu markieren. Genau wie es viele verschiedene Proteine gibt, gibt es auch Hunderte von verschiedenen molekularen Maschinen, die E3-Ligasen genannt werden. Sie führen die Ubiquitinmarkierung aus. Daher ist es wichtig, dass die E3-Ligasen selbst an der richtigen Stelle und zur richtigen Zeit in den Zellen ein- und ausgeschaltet werden.

Der "Einschalter" für etwa ein Drittel aller E3-Ligasen ist ein kleines Protein, das wie Ubiquitin aussieht, aber NEDD8 genannt wird. "Obwohl wir die Komponenten vieler E3-Ligasen kennen, wissen wir nicht, wie NEDD8 es schafft, dass sich die E3-Ligasen aus allen ihren Bestandteilen zum richtigen Zeitpunkt und Ort in einer Zelle zusammensetzen, oder wie NEDD8 die Ligasen in die Lage versetzt, Ubiquitin zu übertragen", sagt Schulman. Mit einem multidisziplinären Ansatz wollen die Forscher verstehen, was NEDD8 zur Aktivierung von E3-Ligasen beiträgt. Dazu gehört die Wirkungsweise der aktivierten Ubiquitin-Ligase-Maschinerie und wie NEDD8 andere molekulare Maschinen dazu veranlasst, die Ubiquitin-markierten Proteine abzuschalten.

„Wir wissen, dass ohne NEDD8 ein Großteil der Ubiquitinierungsmaschinerie zum Erliegen kommt. Dementsprechend, muss es zusammen mit anderen Bauteilen essenzielle Aufgaben übernehmen“, so Schulman. „Letztendlich wollen wir, wie in einen Film, die verschiedenen Schritte in einzelnen elektronenmikroskopischen Bildern dreidimensional sichtbar machen um das Zusammenwirken der Bausteine detailliert zu verstehen.“ fasst Schulman zusammen.

Über Brenda Schulman
Schulman studierte Biologie an der Johns Hopkins University, Baldimore, MD, USA. Nach ihrer Promotion am M.I.T., Cambride, MA, USA, im Jahr 1996 arbeitete sie als Postdoc am Massachusetts General Hospital Cancer Center, Boston, MA, USA und am Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, New York, NW, USA. 2001 wechselte Schulman an das St. Jude‘s Children Research Hospital in Memphis, TN, USA und war hier von 2005 bis 2017 als Howard Hughes Medical Institute tätig. Seit 2016 leitet Brenda Schulman die Abteilung „Molekulare Maschinen und Signalwege“ am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried bei München. Sie erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter den USA Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers. Sie ist Mitglied der American Academy of Arts and Sciences und der National Academy of Sciences.

Über den ERC
Der Europäische Forschungsrat, ERC, wurde 2007 von der Europäischen Union etabliert und ist die erste europäische Förderorganisation für herausragende Forschung. Jedes Jahr wählt und finanziert der ERC die besten und kreativsten Forscher jeder Nationalität und Alters damit diese ihre Projekte in Europa durchführen können. Der ERC vergibt drei Arten von Stipendien: den „Starter-Grant“, den „Consolidator Grant“ und den „Advanced Grant“. Der „Advanced Grant“ fördert etablierte unabhängige Top-Wissenschaftler, die auf ihrem jeweiligen Forschungsfeld führend sind. Mehr Informationen finden sie unter https://erc.europa.eu/.

 
loading content
Zur Redakteursansicht