Organization of the Institute

Organization of the Institute


Directors & scientific employees


The administration at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry supports the scientists by providing all necessary administrative and technical services in the areas of personnel management, financial accounting and purchasing. The services also include an externally operated canteen, a guest house as well as a transport service, a nursery and a laundry service. Apprentices are also trained in the administration department. The aim is to support and relieve the scientific departments and research groups.

Executive Management

Executive Management

According to the statutes, the scientific and administrative management of the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry (MPIB) is the responsibility of the Directors. They are Scientific Members of the Max Planck Gesellschaft (MPG) and at the same time Research Directors of the MPIB appointed by the Senate of the Max Planck Gesellschaft. The MPIB Managing Board (Geschäftsführende Leitung, GL) consists of a Managing Director, who is appointed by the President of the MPG, and two deputies. The GL is responsible for the daily business at the Institute and implements the decisions taken by the Board of Directors. It is supported by the Office of the Managing Board (GL office) as well as by the administration.

Scientific Advisory Board

Scientific Advisory Board

In order to guarantee the high quality and productivity of research at the institutes in the long term, all Max Planck Institutes are regularly reviewed by independent scientific advisory boards. All members of the MPIB Scientific Advisory Board are not members of the Max Planck Society (MPG) and are mostly from abroad. The members are appointed by the President of the MPG. They regularly assess the quality of the research work, the success in acquiring third-party funding, the cooperation activities with other research projects and other quality-relevant criteria.

Members of MPIB's Scientific Advisory Board:

Prof. Dr. David A. Agard, University of California, San Francisco, CA, USA
Link Macromolecular Structures

Dr. Geneviève Almouzni, Institut Curie, Paris, France
Link Chromatin Dynamics

Prof. Dr. Jyoti Choudhary, The Institute of Cancer Research, London, UK
Link Jyoti Choudhary

Dr. John Diffley, The Francis Crick Institute, Hertfordshire, UK
Link Chromosome Replication

Prof. Dr. Ivan Dikic, Goethe-Universität - Fachbereich Medizin, Institut für Biochemie II, Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Link Molecular Signaling

Prof. Dr. Lila Gierasch, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA, USA
Link Protein Folding in the Cell

Prof. Dr. Albert Heck, Utrecht University, Utrecht, The Netherlands
Link Biomolecular Mass Spectrometry and Proteomics

Prof. Dr. Scott Keeney, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, USA
Link Mechanism of Meiotic Recombination

Prof. Dr. Karolin Luger, University of Colorado Boulder, USA
Link Structural Biology: Chromatin Structure & Dynamics

Prof. Dr. Emma Lundberg , KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, SE
Link Bioimaging and Proteomics

Prof. Dr. William E. Moerner, Stanford University, Dpt. of Chemistry, Stanford, USA
Link Single Molecules for Super-Resolution Cellular Imaging and Biomolecular Dynamics

Prof. Dr. Eva Nogales, University of California, Berkeley, USA
Link Visualizing Molecular Function through Cryo-Electron Microscopy

Prof. Dr. Manuel Théry, Cryptomorpho Lab at Hôpital Saint-Louis, Paris, France
Link Physics of Cytoskeleton and Morphogenesis

Prof. Dr. Viola Vogel, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Link Mechanobiology

Prof. Dr. Johannes Walter, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Boston, USA
Link Mechanisms of Genome Maintenance

Prof. Dr. Fiona Watt, King's College London, UK
Link Stem Cells in Adult Tissue

Prof. Dr. Stephen West, The Francis Crick Institute, London, UK
Link DNA Recombination and Repair

Prof. Dr. Cynthia Wolberger, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, Baltimore, USA
Link Ubiquitination in Regulating Transcription and the DNA Damage Response

Board of Trustees

The joint Board of Trustees of the Max Planck Institutes of Biochemistry and Neurobiology is an important instrument for communication between the institutes and the public. The board is composed of influential members of society from politics, business, science and the media. It meets once a year with the management of the institutes and the Max Planck Society to inform itself about developments at the institutes and in the Max Planck Society in general and to advise the institutes on social and science policy issues.


  • Prof. Dr. Peter Becker
    LMU Biomedical Center, Planegg-Martinsried
  • Prof. Dr. Francesca Biagini
    Vice-President LMU, Munich
  • Prof. Dr. Marianne Dieterich
    LMU Hospital Großhadern, Munich
  • Prof. Dr. Horst Domdey
    BioM Biotech Cluster Development GmbH, Planegg-Martinsried
  • Dipl.-Ing. Markus Ferber
    European Parliament, CSU European Office, Augsburg
  • Christoph Göbel
    Head of Landratsamt Munich, Munich
  • Dr. Carlos Härtel
    Chairman of the Supervisory Board of GE Power AG, Mannheim
  • Prof. Dr. Thomas Hofmann
    Munich Technical University, Freising
  • Hermann Nafziger
    1. Mayor of the municipality of Planegg, Planegg
  • Werner Reuß
    Bayerischer Rundfunk, Munich
  • Prof. Dr. Gerd Schnorrenberg
    Boehringer Ingelheim Pharma GmbH & Co.KG, Biberach
  • Andreas Sentker
    DIE ZEIT, Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Matthias Tschöp
    Helmholtz Zentrum München, Munich-Neuherberg
  • Dr. Marlene Weiß
    Süddeutsche Zeitung GmbH, Munich
  • Prof. Dr. Günther Wess
    Helmholtz Zentrum München, Munich-Neuherberg
  • Dr. Manfred Wolter
    Bavarian State Ministry of Economic Affairs and Media, Energy and Technology, Munich
  • Dr. Peter Hanns Zobel
    Innovation and Start-up Centre for Biotechnology IZB (Fördergesellschaft), Planegg-Martinsried
Representatives of MPIB'S scientific staff in the Biology & Medicine Section

Representatives of MPIB'S scientific staff in the Biology & Medicine Section

The representative of the Institute's scientific staff who is elected for three years attends the meetings of both the Biology & Medicine Section (BMS) and the Scientific Council of the MPG as a voting member and may participate in BMS committees. He is invited to the meetings of the Martinsrieder Kreis (MPI of Biochemistry) and informs the scientific staff about developments at the Institute and within the BMS. Representative of MPIB's scientific staff in the BMS: Prof. Jürgen Plitzko (until 24 June 2021) Successor: Dr. Daniel Bollschweiler.

Link Biological and Medical Section of the Max Planck Society
Link Senate of the Max Planck Society
Go to Editor View