Lighting up DNA-based nanostructures

April 24, 2018

Most people know DNA as the carrier of genetic information. However, scientists now use DNA – based on their physical properties – as basic building blocks to produce complex, nanometer-sized objects. This technique is called DNA origami. Scientists from the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry have now for the first time used a new variant of super-resolution microscopy to visualize all the strands of a DNA origami structure. The method promises to optimize the design of such structures for specific biological and biophysical applications. The work was published in the journal Nature Communications.

 

Super-resolution microscopy. With DNA-PAINT it is possible to visualize all the strands in DNA nanostructures individually.

The term ‘DNA origami’ refers to a method for the design and self-assembly of complex molecular structures with nanometer precision. The technique exploits the base-pairing interactions between single-stranded DNA molecules of known sequence to generate intricate three-dimensional nanostructures with predefined shapes in arbitrarily large numbers. The method has great potential for a wide range of applications in basic biological and biophysical research. Thus researchers are already using DNA origami to develop functional nanomachines. In this context, the ability to characterize the quality of the assembly process is vital. Now a team led by Ralf Jungmann, Head of the Molecular Imaging and Bionanotechnology lab at the Max Planck Institute for Biochemistry and Professor of Experimental Physics at LMU Munich, reports an important advance in this regard. In the online journal Nature Communications, he and his colleagues describe a mode of super-resolution microscopy that enables all the strands within these nanostructures to be visualized individually. This has allowed them to conclude that assembly proceeds in a robust fashion under a wide range of conditions, but that the probability that a given strand will be efficiently incorporated is dependent on the precise position of its target sequence in the growing structure.

DNA origami structures are essentially assembled by allowing one long single-stranded DNA molecule (the ‘scaffold’ strand) to interact in a controlled, predefined manner with a set of shorter ‘staple’ strands. The latter bind to specific (‘complementary’) stretches of the scaffold strand, progressively folding it into the desired form. “In our case, the DNA strands self-assemble into a flat rectangular structure, which serves as the basic building block for many DNA origami-based studies at the moment,” says Maximilian Strauss, joint first author of the new paper, together with Florian Schüder and Daniel Haas. With the aid of a super-resolution technique called DNA-PAINT, the researchers are able to visualize nanostructures with unprecedented spatial resolution, allowing them to image each of the strands in the nanostructures. “Now, we can directly visualize all components of the origami structure and determine how well it puts itself together,” says Strauss.

As its name suggests, the DNA-PAINT technique itself also makes use of the specificity of DNA-DNA interactions. Here, short ‘imager’ strands linked to dye molecules that pair up with complementary sequences are used to identify sites that are accessible for binding. Imager strands interact transiently but repetitively with their target sites, which results in a “blinking” signal. “By comparing the information in the individual fluorescence images, we are able to attain a higher resolution, so that we can inspect the whole structure in detail,” says Strauss. “This phenomenon can be understood as follows. Let’s say we’re looking at a house with two illuminated windows. Seen from a certain distance, it appears as if the light is coming from one source. However, one can readily distinguish between the positions of the two windows if the lights are alternately switched on and off.” Hence, the method allows the researchers to determine the positions of the bound staple strands precisely, and the specific blinking signal emitted by imager strands reveals sites that are available for binding.

The results obtained with the DNA-PAINT method revealed that variations in several physical parameters – such as the overall speed of structure formation – have little influence on the overall quality of the assembly process. However, although its efficiency can be enhanced by the use of additional staple strands, not all strands were found in all of the nanoparticles formed, i.e. not all available sites were occupied in all of the final structures. “When assembling nanomachines it is therefore advisable that the individual components are added in large excess and the positions of the modifications chosen in accordance with our mapping of incorporation efficiency,” says Strauss.

The DNA-PAINT method thus provides a means of optimizing the construction of DNA nanostructures. In addition, the authors believe that the technology has great potential in the field of quantitative structural biology, as it will allow researchers to measure important parameters such as the labelling efficiency of antibodies, cellular proteins and nucleic acids directly. [göd]

Original publication:
M.T. Strauss, F. Schueder, D. Haas, P.C. Nickels & R. Jungmann “Quantifying absolute addressability in DNA origami with molecular resolution”. Nature Communications, April 2018
DOI: 10.1038/s41467-018-04031-z

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View

Kontakt

Dr. Ralf Jungmann
Dr. Ralf Jungmann
Gruppenleiter
Telefon:+49 89 8578-3410Fax:+49 89 8578-3430

MPI für Biochemie,
Am Klopferspitz 18
82152 Martinsried

http://www.biochem.mpg.de/jungmann

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI für Biochemie,
Am Klopferspitz 18,
82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Blitzlicht aus der Nanowelt

24. April 2018

Während den meisten Menschen DNA als Träger der Erbinformation bekannt ist, nutzen heute Wissenschaftler die DNA aufgrund ihrer physikalischen Eigenschaften als Grundbausteine um nanometerkleine Objekte herzustellen. Diese Technik heißt DNA-Origami. Mit einem superauflösenden Mikroskopie-Verfahren ist es Forschern vom Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie erstmals gelungen, alle Stränge einer DNA-Nanostruktur sichtbar zu machen. Dies kann zukünftig helfen, deren Design für neuartige biologische und biophysikalische Anwendungen zu optimieren. Die Ergebnisse Arbeit wurden im Fachmagazin Nature Communications veröffentlicht.

Superauflösungsmikroskop. Mit Hilfe der Superauflösungstechnik DNA-PAINT ist es möglich, einzelne Stränge in DNA-Nanostrukturen sichtbar zu machen. Bild vergrößern

Superauflösungsmikroskop. Mit Hilfe der Superauflösungstechnik DNA-PAINT ist es möglich, einzelne Stränge in DNA-Nanostrukturen sichtbar zu machen.

[weniger]

DNA-Origami ist eine Technik, die es möglich macht, DNA-Stränge zu komplexen, nanometergenauen Objekten zu falten. Die Methode hat großes Potenzial für zahlreiche Anwendungen in der biologischen und biophysikalischen Grundlagenforschung. Aktuell versuchen Wissenschaftler unter anderem, funktionierende dynamische Nanomaschinen auf Basis von DNA-Origami zu entwickeln. Dafür ist es wichtig, die entstehenden Objekte in allen Einzelteilen präzise zu charakterisieren. Ein Team um Ralf Jungmann, Leiter der Forschungsgruppe Molekulare Bildgebung und Bionanotechnologie am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie und Professor für Experimentalphysik an der LMU, hat dabei nun einen entscheidenden Durchbruch erzielt: Wie die Forscher im Fachmagazin Nature Communications berichten, konnten sie mithilfe superauflösender Mikroskopie erstmals alle Stränge einer Struktur sichtbar machen und zeigen, dass deren Zusammenbau selbst unter verschiedenen Bedingungen sehr robust erfolgt, jedoch die Einbauwahrscheinlichkeit von der Position der Stränge in der Struktur abhängig zu sein scheint.

Beim DNA-Origami wird ein langes, einzelsträngiges DNA-Molekül mit vielen kurzen Strängen zusammengebracht. Diese binden an bestimmten Stellen an den langen Strang und falten ihn so in genau vorbestimmte Formen. „In unserem Fall ordnen sich die DNA-Stränge von selbst in eine flache, rechteckige Struktur an, die zur Zeit bei den meisten DNA-Origami-Studien verwendet wird“, sagt Maximilian Strauß, gemeinsam mit Florian Schüder und Daniel Haas Erstautor der Arbeit. Mithilfe einer superauflösenden Mikroskopie-Methode namens DNA-PAINT gelang es den Wissenschaftlern, die DNA-Struktur im Detail direkt abzubilden. „Dadurch können wir erstmals sehen, wie gut das Objekt zusammengebaut ist“, sagt Strauß.

Der Trick bei der superauflösenden DNA-PAINT-Technik besteht darin, dass an die kurzen DNA-Stränge Farbstoffe gebunden sind, die detektiert werden, wenn der Strang an sein Gegenstück bindet. Durch wiederholtes An- und Abbinden dieser Stränge entsteht eine Art Blinksignal. „Dadurch kann man aus den Einzelbildern eine höhere Auflösung herausrechnen und das gesamte Objekt unter die Lupe nehmen“, sagt Strauß. „Man kann sich das so vorstellen:  Wenn man ein Haus mit zwei erleuchteten Fenstern betrachtet, wirken die Fenster aus größerer Entfernung wie eine einzige Lichtquelle. Macht aber jemand abwechselnd die Lichter an und aus, kann man die beiden Fenster unterscheiden.“ Ein weiterer Vorteil dieser Methode ist, dass die Forscher nicht nur die Position der DNA-Stränge genau bestimmen können, sondern dass sie durch das spezifische Blinksignal auch wissen, dass sie tatsächlich aktiv und für weitere Modifikationen zugänglich sind.

Die Wissenschaftler konnten mit der neuen Untersuchungsmethode zeigen, dass der Zusammenbau der Nanostruktur offenbar wenig störungsanfällig ist und viele Parameter – etwa die Geschwindigkeit des Vorgangs – kaum einen Einfluss darauf haben. Durch die Zugabe von zusätzlichen DNA-Strängen konnten die Forscher den Zusammenbau verbessern, aber trotzdem waren oft nicht alle Stränge eingebaut, nicht alle möglichen Bindungsstellen also besetzt. „Für den Bau von Nanomaschinen empfiehlt es sich daher, die einzelnen Bauteile in hohem Überschuss dazuzugeben und die Position der Modifikationen gemäß unserer Kartierung der Einbaueffizienz zu wählen“, sagt Strauß.

Mithilfe der neuen Methode ist es nun möglich, die Konstruktion von DNA-Nanostrukturen zu optimieren. Zudem sind die Wissenschaftler der Überzeugung, dass die Technik großes Potenzial in der quantitativen Strukturbiologie hat und es ermöglichen kann, wichtige Parameter wie die Markierungseffizienz von Antikörpern, zellulären Proteinen oder Nukleinsäuren direkt zu bestimmen. [göd]

Originalpublikation:
M.T. Strauss, F. Schueder, D. Haas, P.C. Nickels & R. Jungmann “Quantifying absolute addressability in DNA origami with molecular resolution”. Nature Communications, April 2018
DOI: 10.1038/s41467-018-04031-z

 

 
loading content
Zur Redakteursansicht