How skin cells protect themselves against mechanical stress

December 11, 2018

The skin is the largest organ in the human body and serves, among other things, to protect against physical injury. To provide such protection, skin cells must be tightly connected to each other. However, it was long unclear exactly how such mechanical stability is achieved. Researchers at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry together with researchers from Stanford University (USA) have now been able to show how mechanical stress is processed at special cell anchoring points known as desmosomes. For this purpose, they developed a miniature device to measure forces across individual proteins within desmosomes. In the study published in Nature Communications, they use technology to show how mechanical forces are processed at these anchoring points.

The molecular force transduction in desmosomes was analyzed before (blue), during (green), and after (red) the application of mechanical stress.

Skin cells cling together
Our skin acts as a protective shield against external factors. To carry out this mechanical function, skin cells form special anchoring points known as desmosomes, which increase the adhesion between cells. It is know that patients with defective desmosomes suffer from severe skin disorders, especially following mechanical stress, but it is still unclear how mechanical forces are processed on the molecular level in desmosomes. An international research group headed by Carsten Grashoff, Research Group Leader at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry and Professor at the University of Münster, has developed a new method to investigate the molecular forces at these anchoring points.

Miniature spring scale measures forces in desmosomes
“The technology works similar to a miniature spring scale,” says Anna-Lena Cost, a lead author of the study. The force sensor consists of two fluorescent dyes that are linked by an extensible peptide. The peptide acts as a molecular spring, which stretches in response to just a few piconewtons of force, resulting in fluorescence changes. These changes can be recorded with microscopy methods to determine mechanical differences at desmosomal proteins. In their experiments, the researchers found that desmosomes do not experience mechanical stress, as long no external forces are applied. When the cells are mechanically stressed, as it is the case in our skin, mechanical forces within desmosomes becomes visible. These forces depend on the strength of the exerted stress and its orientation. “If there is little mechanical stress, other cellular structures are able to bear the load. However, when high levels of stress occur, desmosomes come to the rescue,” summarizes Anna-Lena Cost.

Originalpublikation:
Price, J. A.; Cost, A. L.; Ungewiß, H.; Waschke, J.; Dunn, A. R.; Grashoff, C. Mechanical loading of desmosomes depends on the magnitude and orientation of external stress. Nature Communications (2018).
DOI: 10.1038/s41467-018-07523-0.

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View

Kontakt

Dr. Carsten Grashoff
Dr. Carsten Grashoff
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2416

MPI für Biochemie, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

Molekulare Mechanotransduktion

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI für Biochemie,
Am Klopferspitz 18,
82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Wie sich Hautzellen vor mechanischem Stress schützen

11. Dezember 2018

Die Haut ist unser größtes Organ und dient unter anderem dem Schutz vor mechanischen Einflüssen. Um diesen Schutz zu gewährleisten, müssen Hautzellen besonders eng miteinander verbunden sein. Wie genau diese mechanische Stabilität vermittelt wird, war jedoch lange Zeit unklar. Forscher am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie konnten nun gemeinsam mit Forschern der Stanford Universität (USA) zeigen, wie mechanische Belastungen an speziellen Zell-Haltepunkten, den sogenannten Desmosomen, verarbeitet werden. Dazu haben sie ein Minimessgerät entwickelt, mit dem Kräfte entlang einzelner Bestandteile in Desmosomen bestimmt werden können. In der in Nature Communications veröffentlichten Studie zeigen sie mit Hilfe der Technik, wie mechanische Kräfte an diesen speziellen Haltepunkten verarbeitet werden.

Die molekulare Kraftübertragung in Desmosomen wurde vor (blau), während (grün) und nach (rot) der Anwendung mechanischen Stresses untersucht. Bild vergrößern

Die molekulare Kraftübertragung in Desmosomen wurde vor (blau), während (grün) und nach (rot) der Anwendung mechanischen Stresses untersucht.

[weniger]

Zellen in der Haut halten zusammen
Unsere Haut ist das Schutzschild gegen äußere Einflüsse und muss einiges aushalten. Sie muss dehnbar sein, darf aber auch bei großer Belastung nicht reißen. Damit diese mechanische Funktion erfüllt werden kann, bilden Hautzellen spezielle Haltepunkte, sogenannte Desmosomen, aus, welche die Adhäsion zwischen Zellen verstärken. Menschen mit fehlerhaften Desmosomen leiden unter massiven Hautstörungen, die insbesondere nach mechanischer Beanspruchung zu Tage treten. Allerdings war bisher kaum verstanden, wie mechanische Kräfte auf die einzelnen Bestandteile der Desmosomen einwirken. Eine internationale Forschergruppe aus den USA und Deutschland um Carsten Grashoff, Arbeitsgruppenleiter am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried und Professor an der Westfälischen-Wilhelms-Universität Münster, haben eine Methode entwickelt, um die molekularen Kräfte an diese Haltepunkte zu analysieren.

Miniatur-Federwaage misst Kraft in Desmosomen
„Die Technik funktioniert so ähnlich wie eine Miniatur-Federwaage“, sagt Anna-Lena Cost, eine Erstautorin der Studie. Der Kraftsensor besteht aus zwei fluoreszierenden Farbstoffen, die mit einem Peptid verbunden sind. Das Peptid fungiert dabei als Feder, die schon bei wenigen Piconewton gedehnt wird, was zu einer Veränderung in der Strahlkraft der Farbstoffe führt. Diese Änderung können die Forscher mit Mikroskopen so gut auslesen, dass mechanische Unterschiede an einzelnen Haltepunkten bestimmt werden können. In ihren Experimenten fanden die Forscher heraus, dass Desmosomen keinen mechanischen Belastungen ausgesetzt sind, solange auch keine äußeren Kräfte auf die Zellen einwirken. Wird jedoch an den Zellen gezogen, so wie es auch in der Haut vorkommen kann, werden mechanische Belastungen in Desmosomen sichtbar. Diese Belastungen hängen von der Stärke des Stresses und dessen Ausrichtung ab. „Desmosomen sind sozusagen die Helfer in der Not. Wenn es nur geringe mechanischen Belastungen gibt, können andere Strukturen der Zelle die Last tragen. Aber wenn es zu hohem Stress kommt, dann helfen Desmosomen mit“, fasst Anna-Lena Cost die Ergebnisse zusammen.

Originalpublikation:
Price, J. A.; Cost, A. L.; Ungewiß, H.; Waschke, J.; Dunn, A. R.; Grashoff, C. Mechanical loading of desmosomes depends on the magnitude and orientation of external stress. Nature Communications (2018).
DOI: 10.1038/s41467-018-07523-0.

 
loading content
Zur Redakteursansicht