Contact

Prof. Dr. Matthias Mann
Prof. Dr. Matthias Mann
Director
Phone:+49 89 8578-2558
Email:mmann@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de/mann

Proteomics and Signal Transduction

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Public Relations
Phone:+49 89 8578-2824
Email:pr@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Finding the off-switch for side effects

June 21, 2018

Opioids are powerful painkillers that act on the brain, but they have a range of harmful side effects including addiction. Researchers have developed a tool that gives deeper insights into the brain’s response to opioids. Using mass spectrometry, they determined changes of proteins’ phosphorylation patterns – the molecular switches of the proteins – in five different regions of the brain and assigned them to the desired and the undesired effects of opioid treatment. Their results, which are published in the journal Science, will lead the way for the identification of novel drug targets and the design of a new class of painkillers with fewer side effects. The study was performed by researchers at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry (MPIB) in collaboration with researchers from the Medical University of Innsbruck, Austria, University of Innsbruck, and Temple University, USA.

Tens of thousands protein phosphorylation events occur in the brain with different brightness, much like the cosmo in the sky. Many of the phosphorylation events are organized into signaling pathways, like the constellations. These signaling pathways that are activated by opioid-like drugs can be therapeutic (painkilling), but can also cause side effects. Mass spectrometry reveals the patterns of these signaling pathways and provides an approach to alleviate side effects of the opioid-like drugs. Zoom Image

Tens of thousands protein phosphorylation events occur in the brain with different brightness, much like the cosmo in the sky. Many of the phosphorylation events are organized into signaling pathways, like the constellations. These signaling pathways that are activated by opioid-like drugs can be therapeutic (painkilling), but can also cause side effects. Mass spectrometry reveals the patterns of these signaling pathways and provides an approach to alleviate side effects of the opioid-like drugs.

[less]

The signaling cascades that are used by cells to respond to external stimuli resemble the chain of command of a company. Activation of a receptor, which acts as the head of the company, gives instruction to other proteins inside the cells, which act as groups of subordinates. This information is then passed down to lower levels of the organizational structure via signaling cascades of other interacting proteins. Like the employees who perform different tasks to keep a company running, proteins are the molecular machines in the cells that conduct the majority of functions. In cells, instructions are passed along to other proteins by changing the function of these ‘cellular employees’. One way to change the function is by “phosphorylations” – the attachment of a phosphate molecule to the proteins. By analyzing all the molecular switches at the same time, the activity of signaling pathways in cells or an organ can be determined. Studying this chain of command gives a more precise insight into the currently occurring processes within cells than studying the DNA, the genetic “blueprint”, which is almost identical in all cells.

Snapshot of protein activities
Researchers in the laboratory of MPIB director Matthias Mann use mass spectrometry – a method that determines the identity and quantity of proteins in a sample – to describe phosphorylation patterns of thousands of proteins in many organ specimens, an approach coined as phosphoproteomics. In the recent study, they analyzed the activation of signaling pathways in the different regions of the brain, responding to opioid-like drugs. To achieve this goal, the researchers used a recently developed method named EasyPhos.

To understand how drugs like opioids work, researchers must know their influence on the brain. “With phosphoproteomics, we can analyze more than 50,000 phosphorylation sites at once and get a snapshot of all pathways that are active in the brain samples during that time. We found more than 1,000 changes after exposure to an opioid-like drug, showing a global effect of these drugs on signaling in the brain.”, says Jeffrey Liu, the lead author of the study. Previous methods could not capture the protein phosphorylations at a comparable scale and missed many important signaling pathways that were switched on or off.

Phosphoproteomics – a versatile tool
“In our study, we looked at the activation of pathways in the brain that are responsible for desired effects of opioids like painkilling. In contrast, the parallel activation of other pathways causes undesired side effects”, says Liu. The researchers used phosphoproteomics to measure how active these beneficial and side effects-causing pathways were. Christoph Schwarzer from the Medical University in Innsbruck, who collaborated with Liu and Mann for this study, focuses his research on these opioid-activated signaling cascades in the brain. During the development of new drugs, the phosphoproteomics data can be used to identify potential substances that give strong therapeutic benefits and have few side effects. In addition, this study also shows the promise of reducing side effects by interfering with the signal cascades responsible for these effects. Current drugs of the opioid family are potent painkillers but quickly lead to addiction. Thus, there is an urgent need for novel non-addictive opioids.

Imagining the proteins in the brain as a company, phosphoproteomics allows the researchers to follow the activity of all employees at once instead of focusing on a selected few. Mass spectrometry can be a powerful tool to study drug targets in the brain or other organs. The mass spectrometry expert Matthias Mann says, “The current epidemic of opioid-related deaths in the US is a shocking example for the potential consequences of prescription drugs with strong side effects like addiction. With mass spectrometry, we can get a global view of the effects of drugs and streamline the development of new drugs with fewer side effects.” Mann explains that the design of new drugs is just one of many potential applications of phosphoproteomics and predicts that the method can also be used to generate knowledge on how cells use their chains of command to process information and the effects on drugs in other organs. [CW]

Original publication
J. Liu, K. Sharma, L. Zangrandi, C. Chen, S. Humphrey, Y.-T. Chiu, M. Spetea, L.-Y. Liu-Chen, C. Schwarzer and M. Mann: In vivo Brain GPCR Signaling Elucidated by Phosphoproteomics, Science, June 2018
DOI: 10.1126/science.aao4927

 
loading content
Go to Editor View

Aus-Schalter für Nebenwirkungen

21. Juni 2018

Opioide sind starke Schmerzmittel, die ihre Wirkung im Gehirn entfalten, aber auch eine Reihe schädlicher Nebenwirkungen haben – unter anderem können sie abhängig machen. Forscher haben jetzt ein Verfahren entwickelt, das tiefere Einblicke in die Reaktion des Gehirns auf Opioide erlaubt. Sie stellten mittels Massenspektrometrie Veränderungen der Protein-Phosphorylierungsmuster – der molekularen Schalter der Proteine – in fünf verschiedenen Regionen des Gehirns fest und ordneten sie den erwünschten und unerwünschten Wirkungen der Opioidbehandlung zu. Auf der Grundlage dieser in der Fachzeitschrift Science veröffentlichten Ergebnisse sollen neuartige Arzneimittel-Targets identifiziert werden, um eine neue Klasse von Schmerzmitteln mit weniger Nebenwirkungen zu entwickeln. Die Studie wurde von Wissenschaftlern des Max-Planck-Instituts für Biochemie (MPIB) in Zusammenarbeit mit Forschern der Medizinischen Universität Innsbruck, Österreich, der Universität Innsbruck und der Temple University, USA durchgeführt.

Die Aktivierung von Signalwege durch opioidartige Medikamente kann therapeutischen Nutzen als Schmerzmittel haben, aber auch Nebenwirkungen verursachen. Durch die Massenspektrometrie lassen sich Muster in der Signalweg-Aktivierung erkennen und Ansätze zur Reduzierung der Nebenwirkungen von opioidartigen Medikamenten entwickeln.

Die Signalkaskaden, derer sich Zellen bedienen, um auf äußere Reize zu reagieren, ähneln der Weisungskette eines Unternehmens. Durch die Aktivierung eines Rezeptors erhalten andere Proteine in den Zellen Anweisungen, vergleichbar mit der Kommunikation des Firmenchefs mit Gruppen von Untergebenen. Diese Informationen werden dann über Signalkaskaden anderer interagierender Proteine an niedrigere Stufen in der Organisationsstruktur weitergegeben. Wie Mitarbeiter, die verschiedene Aufgaben übernehmen, um ein Unternehmen am Laufen zu halten, sind Proteine die molekularen Maschinen in den Zellen, die den Großteil der Funktionen ausüben. In den Zellen werden die Anweisungen durch Veränderung der Funktion dieser „Zellmitarbeiter” an andere Proteine weitergeleitet. Eine Möglichkeit, die Funktion zu verändern, sind „Phosphorylierungen”, d. h. die Anlagerung eines Phosphatmoleküls an die Proteine. Indem sämtliche molekulare Schalter gleichzeitig analysiert werden, lässt sich die Aktivität von Signalwegen in Zellen oder einem Organ bestimmen. Die Erforschung dieser Weisungskette erlaubt einen genaueren Einblick in die aktuell stattfindenden Prozesse in den Zellen als die Analyse der DNA, der genetischen „Blaupause“, die in allen Zellen mehr oder weniger identisch ist.

Momentaufnahme der Proteinaktivitäten
Forscher im Labor des MPIB-Direktors Matthias Mann beschreiben mittels Massenspektrometrie – einem Verfahren zur Bestimmung der Identität und Quantität von Proteinen in einer Probe – die Phosphorylierungsmuster von Tausenden von Proteinen in verschiedenen Organproben. Dieser Ansatz wird als Phospho-Proteomik bezeichnet. In der jüngst durchgeführten Studie untersuchten die Forscher die Aktivierung von Signalwegen in den unterschiedlichen Gehirnregionen, die auf opioidartige Medikamente ansprechen. Zu diesem Zweck verwendeten die Wissenschaftler eine kürzlich entwickelte Methode namens EasyPhos.

Um die Wirkungsweise von Medikamenten wie zum Beispiel Opioiden zu verstehen, müssen die Forscher ihre Auswirkung auf das Gehirn kennen. „Mit Hilfe der Phospho-Proteomik können wir mehr als 50.000 Phosphorylierungsorte auf einmal untersuchen. Wir erhalten eine Momentaufnahme der Aktivität aller Signalwege zu einem bestimmten Zeitpunkt in den Gehirnproben. Nach Applikation eines opioidartigen Medikaments stellten wir mehr als 1000 Veränderungen fest, was einen globalen Effekt dieser Arzneimittel auf die Signalgebung im Gehirn belegt“, erklärt Jeffrey Liu, der Erstautor der Studie. Mit den bislang angewendeten Methoden ließen sich die Proteinphosphorylierungen nicht in einer vergleichbaren Größenordnung erfassen, so dass das An- oder Abschalten vieler wichtiger Signalwege unbemerkt bliebe.

Phospho-Proteomik – ein vielseitiges Werkzeug
„In unserer Studie haben wir die Aktivierung von Signalwegen im Gehirn, die für gewünschte Wirkungen von Opioiden wie zum Beispiel Schmerzlinderung verantwortlich sind, untersucht. Im Gegensatz dazu führt die parallele Aktivierung anderer Signalwege zu unerwünschten Nebenwirkungen”, so Liu. Die Forscher bestimmten mittels Phospho-Proteomik, wie aktiv diese zu positiven Effekten bzw. Nebenwirkungen führenden Signalwege sind. Christoph Schwarzer von der Medizinischen Universität Innsbruck, der im Rahmen dieser Studie mit Liu und Mann zusammenarbeitete, legt den Schwerpunkt seiner Forschung auf diese Opioid-aktivierten Signalkaskaden im Gehirn. Bei der Entwicklung neuer Medikamente können die Phospho-Proteomik-Daten der Identifizierung von Substanzen dienen, die eine starke therapeutische Wirkung aufweisen und weniger Nebenwirkungen haben. Darüber hinaus verspricht diese Studie auch eine Reduktion der Nebenwirkungen durch das Eingreifen in die hierfür verantwortlichen Signalkaskaden. Die aktuellen Medikamente aus der Opioidfamilie sind zwar starke Schmerzmittel, bewirken aber eine rasche Abhängigkeit. Daher besteht ein dringender Bedarf an neuartigen Opioiden, die kein Abhängigkeitspotential aufweisen.

Stellt man sich die Proteine im Gehirn als Unternehmen vor, so können Forscher mit Hilfe der Phospho-Proteomik die Aktivität des gesamten Personals gleichzeitig verfolgen anstatt sich auf ein paar ausgewählte Mitarbeiter zu konzentrieren. Die Massenspektrometrie ist ein wirkungsvolles Instrument zur Erforschung von Medikamenten-Targets im Gehirn oder anderen Organen. Massenspektrometrie-Experte Matthias Mann meint dazu: „Die derzeit epidemisch auftretenden Todesfälle im Zusammenhang mit Opioiden in den USA sind ein schockierendes Beispiel für die möglichen Folgen der Verschreibung von Arzneimitteln mit starken Nebenwirkungen wie beispielsweise Abhängigkeit. Mit Hilfe der Massenspektrometrie lassen sich die Wirkungen von Medikamenten umfangreich erfassen, so dass die Entwicklung neuer Medikamente mit weniger Nebenwirkungen optimiert werden kann.” Dies sei aber nur eine von vielen Anwendungsmöglichkeiten der Phospho-Proteomik, erklärt Mann. Mit dem Verfahren ließen sich auch Erkenntnisse über die Art und Weise, wie Zellen ihre Weisungsketten zur Informationsverarbeitung einsetzen, und die Wirkungen von Medikamenten in anderen Organen gewinnen. [CW]

Originalpublikation
J. Liu, K. Sharma, L. Zangrandi, C. Chen, S. Humphrey, Y.-T. Chiu, M. Spetea, L.-Y. Liu-Chen, C. Schwarzer and M. Mann: In vivo Brain GPCR Signaling Elucidated by Phosphoproteomics, Science, Juni 2018
DOI: 10.1126/science.aao4927

Weitere interessante Beiträge

Zur Redakteursansicht