Contact

profile_image
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Public Relations
Phone:+49 89 8578-2824
Email:pr@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Stefan Jentsch posthumously awarded Otto-Warburg-Medal 2017

September 26, 2017

Stefan Jentsch was posthumously awarded the Otto Warburg Medal on September 25. The German Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (Gesellschaft für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie, GBM) and its partners Elsevier and Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA) posthumously award the renowned cell biologist for his research on the importance of the protein Ubiquitin. Jentsch had died in October 2016 at the age of 61. Shortly before, he learned about the award. Wolfgang Baumeister, Director of the department „Structural Biology“ at the MPI of Biochemistry and colleague of Jentsch: “The Otto-Warburg-Medal is the highest award in biochemistry in this country. I remember very well, he was truly excited when he got the information.” Since 1998, Stefan Jentsch has been a Scientific Member and Director of the Molecular Cell Biology Department at the MPI of Biochemistry in Martinsried.

<p>f.l.t.r. Prof. Dr. Michael Rape, Prof. Dr. Thorsten Hoppe, Prof. Dr. Thomas Sommer, Prof. Johannes Herrmann, Prof. Thomas Jentsch, Petra Ullrich (Elsevier), Andrea O`Brien (Elsevier/BBA) und Dr. Ulrich Brandt (BBA)</p> Zoom Image

f.l.t.r. Prof. Dr. Michael Rape, Prof. Dr. Thorsten Hoppe, Prof. Dr. Thomas Sommer, Prof. Johannes Herrmann, Prof. Thomas Jentsch, Petra Ullrich (Elsevier), Andrea O`Brien (Elsevier/BBA) und Dr. Ulrich Brandt (BBA)

[less]

Here, he discovered that modification of proteins with the small protein ubiquitin does not only promote protein degradation, but also fulfils many additional essential functions in cellular regulation. Prof. Thomas Jentsch, brother of the deceased, accepted the medal during the award ceremony in Bochum. The prize money of 25,000 Euro which the Otto-Warburg-Medal is endowed with, has been donated to “Doctors without borders”.

- The press release of the GBM and a video you find here.
- You can find the obituary for Stefan Jentsch here.
- Further information on the research of Stefan Jentsch and the Memorial Symposium on October 17, 2017 at the MPI for Biochemistry can be found here.

 
loading content

Kontakt

profile_image
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI für Biochemie, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Stefan Jentsch erhält posthum die Otto-Warburg-Medaille

26. September 2017

Stefan Jentsch wurde am 25. September posthum die Otto-Warburg-Medaille verliehen. Mit dem renommierten Wissenschaftspreis ehren die Gesellschaft für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie (GBM) sowie ihre Kooperationspartner, das Unternehmen Elsevier und Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA), den Zellbiologen für seine Forschung zur Bedeutung des Proteins Ubiquitin und dessen Rolle als molekularer Schalter in einer Vielzahl zellulärer Prozesse. Jentsch, verstarb im Oktober 2016 im Alter von 61 Jahren. Kurz zuvor hat er noch von der Ehrung erfahren. Wolfgang Baumeister, Direktor der Abteilung Strukturbiologie am MPI für Biochemie und Kollege von Jentsch: „Die Otto-Warburg-Medaille ist der bedeutendste Preis im Bereich der Biochemie in Deutschland. Ich erinnere mich sehr gut, wie hocherfreut Prof. Jentsch war, als er von der Auszeichnung erfahren hat.“ Seit 1998 war Jentsch wissenschaftliches Mitglied der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft und Direktor der Abteilung „Molekulare Zellbiologie“ am MPI für Biochemie in Martinsried.

<p>v.l.n.r. Prof. Dr. Michael Rape, Prof. Dr. Thorsten Hoppe, Prof. Dr. Thomas Sommer, Prof. Johannes Herrmann, Prof. Thomas Jentsch, Petra Ullrich (Elsevier), Andrea O`Brien (Elsevier/BBA) und Dr. Ulrich Brandt (BBA)</p> Bild vergrößern

v.l.n.r. Prof. Dr. Michael Rape, Prof. Dr. Thorsten Hoppe, Prof. Dr. Thomas Sommer, Prof. Johannes Herrmann, Prof. Thomas Jentsch, Petra Ullrich (Elsevier), Andrea O`Brien (Elsevier/BBA) und Dr. Ulrich Brandt (BBA)

[weniger]

Hier entdeckte er, dass Markierungen mit dem kleinen Protein Ubiquitin, neben dem Abbau von Proteinen, auch wichtige Aufgaben in der Zellregulation übernehmen. Der Bruder des Verstorbenen, Prof. Thomas Jentsch, nahm die Medaille entgegen. Das von Elsevier/BBA gesponserte Preisgeld in Höhe von 25.000 Euro, mit dem die Otto-Warburg-Medaille dotiert ist, wird an die Organisation

- Die Pressemeldung der GBM finden Sie hier.

- Den Nachruf zu Stefan Jentsch finden Sie hier.

- Weitere Informationen zur Forschung von Stefan Jentsch und zum Gedenksymposium am 17. Oktober 2017 am MPI für Biochemie finden Sie hier.

 

 

 
loading content