Press Page Axel Ullrich

Mistakes in the communication between cells have fatal consequences: All cancers and many other diseases develop because the cellular signal transmission is disturbed. Axel Ullrich and his team are investigating the cell's communication system and how defects can lead to diseases. With their results, they hope to lay the foundation for new therapeutic approaches..

Tumours can only grow if they are supplied with food and oxygen via the bloodstream. Therefore, they release factors that stimulate blood vessels to grow.

In order for cells to multiply and form different tissues such as blood vessels, nerve tissue or connective tissue, they must be stimulated by growth factors. These bind to receptors on the cell surface and start cellular signal transmission. An important component of the receptors are certain enzymes, the RTKs. They are activated by the binding of growth factors and send information to the cell nucleus via a signal chain. Since receptors, RTKs and growth factors also play a role in the development of cancer, Axel Ullrich and his team of researchers hope to decipher cellular signal transduction.

First successes achieved
Axel Ullrich's findings already formed the basis for the development of the first target-specific anti-cancer drug: The antibody Herceptin specifically blocks an overactive receptor in breast cancer, thereby interrupting the cellular signaling chain. The multispecific drug Sutent, which inhibits both cancer cells and the formation of new blood vessels, is also based on Ullrich's work.

The search continues
Ullrich's team intends to find new targets for therapies in the future and to advance the development of new drugs. Cooperation partners from industry are also expected to help. The scientists' goal is to find multi-specific drugs: They intervene simultaneously at several points in the cellular communication system and could therefore be used against different types of cancer.

News

Axel Ullrich, together with H. Michael Shepard and Dennis J. Slamon, receives the highest biomedical scientific award in the United States for the invention of Herceptin. more

Cancer remains one of the leading causes of death worldwide and the World Health Organisation projects over 13 million annual deaths from cancer by the year 2030. A new generation of medicines based… more

Axel Ullrich, Professor Emeritus of the Department of Molecular Biology at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried has been awarded the Johann-Georg-Zimmermann Medal for his services… more

Go to Editor View

Presseseite Axel Ullrich

Im Kampf gegen Krebs

Fehler in der Kommunikation zwischen Zellen haben fatale Folgen: Alle Krebserkrankungen und viele andere Krankheiten entstehen, weil die zelluläre Signalübertragung gestört ist. Axel Ullrich und sein Team erforschen das Nachrichtensystem der Zelle und wie Defekte zu Krankheiten führen können. Mit ihren Ergebnissen wollen sie den Grundstein für neue Therapieansätze legen.

Tumoren können nur wachsen, wenn sie über den Blutkreislauf mit Nahrung und Sauerstoff versorgt werden. Daher setzen sie Faktoren frei, die Blutgefäße zum Wachsen anregen.

Damit Zellen sich vermehren und verschiedene Gewebe wie Blutgefäße, Nervengewebe oder Bindegewebe bilden können, müssen sie durch Wachstumsfaktoren stimuliert werden. Diese binden an Empfänger (Rezeptoren) auf der Zelloberfläche und starten die zelluläre Signalübertragung. Ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Rezeptoren sind bestimmte Enzyme, die RTKs. Sie werden durch das Binden der Wachstumsfaktoren aktiviert und senden die Informationen über eine Signalkette an den Zellkern. Da Rezeptoren, RTKs und Wachstumsfaktoren auch bei der Krebsentstehung eine Rolle spielen, wollen die Forscher um Axel Ullrich die zelluläre Signalübertragung entschlüsseln.

Erste Erfolge erzielt

Die Forschungsergebnisse von Axel Ullrich bildeten bereits die Basis für die Entwicklung des ersten zielspezifischen Anti-Krebs-Wirkstoffs: Der Antikörper Herceptin blockiert gezielt einen bei Brustkrebs überaktiven Rezeptor und unterbricht dadurch die zelluläre Signalkette. Auch das multispezifische Medikament Sutent, das sowohl Krebszellen als auch die Neubildung von Blutgefäßen hemmt, beruht auf Ullrichs Arbeiten.

Die Suche geht weiter

Das Team um Ullrich möchte auch künftig neue Angriffspunkte für Therapien finden und die Entwicklung neuer Medikamente vorantreiben. Dabei sollen auch Kooperationspartner aus der Industrie helfen. Das Ziel der Wissenschaftler ist, multispezifische Wirkstoffe zu finden: Sie greifen an mehreren Stellen gleichzeitig in das zelluläre Nachrichtensystem ein und könnten daher gegen verschiedene Krebsarten eingesetzt werden.

Pressemitteilungen

Für die Erfindung von Herceptin erhält Axel Ullrich gemeinsam mit H. Michael Shepard und Dennis J. Slamon die höchste biomedizinische wissenschaftliche Auszeichnung der Vereinigten Staaten. mehr

Krebs ist weltweit eine der häufigsten Todesursachen. Die Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) rechnet bis 2030 mit jährlich mehr als 13 Millionen Krebstoten. Eine neue Generation von Medikamenten, die… mehr

Axel Ullrich, Leiter der Emeritusgruppe „Molekularbiologie“ am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried, erhält die Johann-Georg-Zimmermann-Medaille für seine Verdienste auf dem Gebiet der… mehr

Zur Redakteursansicht