Contact

profile_image
Dr. Manajit Hayer-Hartl
Phone:+49 89 8578 - 2204

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de/hayer-hartl

Chaperonin-assisted Protein Folding

profile_image
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Public Relations
Phone:+49 89 8578-2824
Email:pr@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Manajit Hayer-Hartl receives Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin Award

May 09, 2017

Manajit Hayer-Hartl, head of the research group "Chaperonin-assisted Protein Folding” at the Max-Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried receives the Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin Award 2017 of the Protein Society. The Award, sponsored by Genentech, is granted in recognition of exceptional contributions to protein science which profoundly influence our understanding of biology. For the past two decades Hayer-Hartl has investigated the mechanism of GroEL and its co-factor GroES. This work led to the insight that the chaperonin, in addition to preventing aggregation, profoundly influences the free-energy landscapes of folding for some proteins by accelerating folding through entropic destabilization of unfolded states in the confining environment of the folding cage, a mechanism that can be considered specific to chaperonin. By studying the biogenesis of the photosynthetic enzyme Rubisco Dr. Hayer-Hartl also discovered new mechanisms of chaperone-assisted protein assembly. The award will be conferred at the 31st Annual Symposium of the Protein Society in July 24 - 27, 2017 in Montreal, Canada.

Manajit Hayer-Hartl Zoom Image
Manajit Hayer-Hartl

About Manajit Hayer-Hartl
Dr. Manajit Hayer-Hartl completed her PhD in Chemistry at the University Stirling, UK 1984. Between 1984 and 1990 she held post-doctoral fellowships at the Louis Pasteur Institute in Strasbourg, France, at the Ludwig-Maximilian University of Munich and the Jules Stein Eye Institute, Los Angeles, USA. From 1991 to 1997, she did research at the Sloan Kettering Institute, New York, USA. Subsequently, she was project group leader at the Max-Planck-Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried. Since 2006, she is head of the research group "Chaperonin-assisted Protein Folding” at the institute. She is interested in understanding the fundamental mechanisms of chaperone-assisted protein folding and assembly. Hayer-Hartl is an elected member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO).

About the Protein Society
The Protein Society is the leading international society devoted to furthering research and development in protein science. Founded in 1986, the purpose of the Society is to provide an international forum to facilitate communication, cooperation, and collaboration regarding all aspects of the study of proteins. In support of these goals, the Protein Society publishes Protein Science, leading journal in the field, hosts an annual international symposium, and facilitates the education of early-career protein scientists across all lines of discipline. The membership of the Protein Society represents a wide spectrum of academic, industry, governmental, and non-profit institutions from more than 50 countries around the world.

 
loading content

Kontakt

Dr. Manajit Hayer-Hartl
Dr. Manajit Hayer-Hartl
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2204
E-Mail:mhartl@...

MPI für Biochemie, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de/hayer-hartl

Chaperonin-vermittelte Proteinfaltung

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Public Relations
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Manajit Hayer-Hartl erhält Dororthy Crowfoot Hodgkin Preis

9. Mai 2017

Manajit Hayer-Hartl, Leiterin der Forschungsgruppe „Chaperonin-vermittelte Proteinfaltung“ am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried erhält den Dorothy Crowfoot Hodgkin Preis 2017. Der Preis wird in Anerkennung an fundamentale Beiträge in den Proteinwissenschaften von der amerikanischen Protein Society vergeben und von der Firma Genentech gestiftet. Seit mehr als 20 Jahren erforscht Hayer-Hartl den Wirkmechanismus des Chaperonins GroEL und seines Co-Faktors GroES. Neu hergestellte Aminosäureketten werden erst im GroEL/GroES-Komplex  zu funktionsfähigen Proteinen gefaltet. In diesem geschützten Faltungskäfig findet die dreidimensionale Proteinfaltung koordiniert in energiegünstigen und spezifischen Teilschritten statt. Dadurch werden Proteinverklumpungen verhindert. Ausserdem haben Hayer-Hartl und ihr Team in den letzten Jahren die Biogenese des Photosyntheseenzyms Rubisco erforscht und dabei ganz neue Mechanismen der Chaperone-vermittelten Assemblierung von Proteinkomplexen entdeckt. Die Auszeichnung wird auf dem 31. Symposium der Protein Society im Juli 2017 in Montreal, Kanada, verliehen.

Dr. Manajit Hayer-Hartl Bild vergrößern
Dr. Manajit Hayer-Hartl

Über Manajit Hayer-Hartl
Dr. Manajit Hayer-Hartl promovierte 1984 in Chemie an der Universität Stirling, UK. Von 1984 bis 1990 forschte sie als Postdoktorandin am Louise Pasteur Institut in Straßburg, Frankreich, an der Ludwig-Maximilans-Universität in München und dem Jules Stein Eye Institut, Los Angeles, USA. Ihre Forschung führte sie von 1991 bis 1997 an das Sloan Kettering Institut, New York, USA. Anschließend war sie Projektgruppenleiterin am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried. Seit 2006 leitet sie hier die Forschungsgruppe „Chaperonin-vermittelte Proteinfaltung“. Sie untersucht grundlegende Funktionen molekulare Chaperone bei Proteinfaltung und Assemblierung. Hayer-Hartl ist gewähltes Mitglied der European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO).

Über die Protein-Gesellschaft
Die Protein Society ist eine führende internationale Gesellschaft mit dem Ziel der Förderung und Entwicklung der Proteinwissenschaften ist. 1986 gegründet, bietet die Gesellschaft internationale Foren, um  die Kommunikation, Kooperation und Zusammenarbeit  hinsichtlich aller Aspekte des Studiums von Proteinen zu erleichtern. Zur Unterstützung dieser Ziele veröffentlicht die Gesellschaft „Protein Science“, eine wichige Fachzeitschrift auf dem Gebiet, veranstaltet ein jährliches internationales Symposium und erleichtert interdisziplinär die Ausbildung von jungen Protein-Wissenschaftlern. Die Mitglieder der Protein Society vertreten ein breites Spektrum an akademischen, industriellen, staatlichen und gemeinnützigen Einrichtungen aus mehr als 50 Ländern weltweit.

 
loading content
Zur Redakteursansicht