Contact

Martin Spitaler, PhD
Martin Spitaler, PhD
Phone:+49 89 8578-3971

Imaging Facility

Header image 1372149296

The Imaging Facility gives researchers access to sophisticated fluorescence microscopes for the observation and analysis of live or fixed organisms and cells. The scale of samples ranges from whole (small) organisms to single molecules with super-resolution microscopy. We also have high-end flow cytometers, which allow analysis and sorting of cells in many fluorescence channels at high speed. Users get personal training to use equipment and software as needed for their specific experiments, as well as support for data processing and especially quantitative image analysis.

Microscopy

Currently we have five light microscopes:

  • WF1: Widefield microscope GE DeltaVision Elite, including laser module for TIRF (Total Internal Reflection) and FRAP (photobleaching, photoswitching)
  • WF2: Widefield microscope Leica DMI-6000 with high-sensitivity sCMOS camera
  • CF1: Laser-scanning confocal microscope Zeiss LSM780, including a module for FCS (fluorescence correlation spectroscopy) and RICS (Raster Image Correlation Spectroscopy)
  • CF2: Laser-scanning confocal microscope Leica SP8, including resonant scanner and module for FLIM (Fluorescence Lifetime Imaging, from PicoQuant)
  • SR1: Super-resolution microscope Zeiss Elyra PS.1 with modules for SMLM (single-molecule localisation microscopy; PALM, STORM, PAINT) and SIM (structured illumination microscopy) as well as dual-camera module with image splitter

All systems are equipped with motorised stage, temperature control and CO2 incubation.

Flow Cytometry

For the analysis of cells we offer access to a Thermofisher Attune NxT high-speed flow cytometer, for fluorescence-activated cell sorting (FACS) we have a BD FACSAria III. Both are equipped with excitation lasers ranging from UV (375 and 405 nm) to red (633 nm), and emission filters for practically all fluorophores.

 
Go to Editor View
loading content

Kontakt

Martin Spitaler, PhD
Martin Spitaler, PhD
Telefon:+49 89 8578-3971

Imaging Facility

Header image 1372154093

Die Imaging Facility ermöglicht den Wissenschaftlern des Instituts die Nutzung hochwertiger Lichtmikroskope zur Beobachtung und Analyse von lebenden und fixierten Organismen und Zellen. Die Größenordnung der Proben reicht dabei von ganzen (kleinen) Organismen bis zu einzelnen Molekülen in hochauflösender Mikroskopie. Außerdem haben wir auch hochwertige Durchflusszytometer, die sowohl die Analyse als auch das Sortieren von Zellen mit vielen Fluoreszenzkanälen und mit hoher Geschwindigkeit erlauben. Benutzer der Geräte werden von Fachpersonal in die Bedienung von Hard- und Software eingewiesen und bei Bedarf hinsichtlich der Aufnahme, Bearbeitung und vor allem auch der quantitativen Auswertung von Bildern betreut.

Mikroskopie

Derzeit sind fünf Lichtmikroskope verfügbar:

  • WF1: Widefield-Mikroskop GE DeltaVision Elite, inklusive Laser-Modul für TIRF (Total Internal Reflection) und FRAP (Photobleaching, Photoswitching)
  • WF2: Widefield-Mikroskop Leica DMI6000 mit hochempfindlicher sCMOS-Kamera
  • CF1: Konfokales Laser-Scanning Mikroskop Zeiss LSM780, inklusive Modul für FCS (Fluoreszenz-Korrelationsspektroskopie) und RICS (Raster Image Correlation Spectroscopy)
  • CF2: Konfokales Laser-Scanning Mikroskop Leica SP8, inklusive Resonanzscanner und Modul für FLIM (Fluorescence Lifetime, von PicoQuant)
  • SR1: Hochauflösendes Mikroskop Zeiss Elyra PS.1 mit Modulen für SMLM (Single-Molecule Localisation Microscopy; PALM, STORM, PAINT) und SIM (Structured Illumination Microscopy) sowie Zwei-Kamera-Modul mit Bildteiler

Alle Systeme sind mit motorisierten xyz-Tischen sowie mit temperaturgeregelten Inkubationskammern mit CO2-Versorgung ausgestattet.

Durchflusszytometrie

Zum Analysieren von Zellen  steht ein Hochgeschwindigkeits-Durchflusszytometer Thermofisher Attune NxT zur Verfügung, zum Fluoreszenz-aktivierten Zellsortieren (FACS) ein BD FACS Aria III. Beide sind mit Anregungslasern von UV (375 bzw. 405 nm) bis rot (633 nm) und Emissionsfiltern für praktisch alle Fluorophore ausgerüstet.

 
loading content
Zur Redakteursansicht