Scientific Advisory Board

In order to ensure the high quality and productivity of the Institutes’ research on a long-term basis, all Max Planck Institutes routinely undergo scientific evaluations by independent scientific advisors – the so-called Scientific Advisory Boards. All of the members from the MPIB’s Scientific Advisory Board come from other research institutions than the Max Planck Society (MPG), and most of them are from abroad. The members are appointed by the President of the MPG, and they evaluate the work of the Institute every three years. The appointment procedure for new Scientific Members and Institute Directors complements the Scientific Advisory Board's evaluation of the Institute as does the success of an Institute in acquiring third-party funding and the evaluation of the work of neighboring universities on subprojects in special research fields.

Prof. Dr. Anton Berns, The Netherlands Cancer Institute, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Prof. Dr. Nick Brown, University of Cambridge, UK

Prof. Dr. Axel Brunger, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Stanford University, USA

Prof. Dr. Thomas R. Cech, University of Colorado Boulder, USA

Prof. Dr. Wah Chiu, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, USA

John Diffley, PhD, The Francis Crick Institute, Hertfordshire, UK

Prof. Dr. Frank Grosveld, Erasmus Medical Center Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Prof. Dr. Michael Hall, Biozentrum, University of Basel, Switzerland

Prof. Dr. Albert Heck, Utrecht University, Utrecht, The Netherlands

Prof. Dr. Jan Hoeijmakers, Erasmus Medical Center Rotterdam, The Netherlands

Prof. Dr. Danesh Moazed, Harvard Medical School, USA

Prof. Dr. James Nelson, Stanford University, USA

Prof. Dr. Sheena Radford, School of Molecular and Cellular Biology, University of Leeds, UK

Prof. Dr. Venki Ramakrishnan, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, UK

Prof. Dr. Viola Vogel, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

loading content
Go to Editor View