Contact

Prof. Dr. F.-Ulrich Hartl
Prof. Dr. F.-Ulrich Hartl

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de/hartl

Cellular Biochemistry

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Public Relations
Phone:+49 89 8578-2824
Email:pr@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Further Information

Chaperones - folding helpers in the cell

F.-Ulrich Hartl inducted into Hall of Fame of German Research

November 02, 2018

F.-Ulrich Hartl, director at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried, was inducted into the Hall of Fame of German Research. The award, which was introduced by the Manager Magazin in 2009, honors Hartl as a pioneer in the field of cellular biochemistry. Together with colleagues in the USA, Hartl demonstrated that newly produced proteins do not fold spontaneously but require the assistance by folding helpers, so called chaperones. This finding refuted the central dogma that proteins in cells can fold spontaneously, just as they do in the test tube. Hartl’s research shows that misfolded proteins contribute to neurodegenerative diseases like Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease and are associated with malfunction of chaperones.

 

Hall of Fame of German Research Award 2018, Manager Magazin and Merckfrom left: Barbara M. Gruener, Martin Noe, F.-Ulrich Hartl, Stefan Oschmann, Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, Sascha Fahl Zoom Image
Hall of Fame of German Research Award 2018, Manager Magazin and Merck
from left: Barbara M. Gruener, Martin Noe, F.-Ulrich Hartl, Stefan Oschmann, Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, Sascha Fahl
[less]

Proteins, small molecular machines within each cell, take over a variety of tasks. Newly produced immature chain-like proteins have to fold into a specific, three-dimensional structure. In the eighties, Hartl and colleagues proved that proteins do not fold spontaneously. Rather, they need assistance in their folding process by so-called chaperones. At the time, this finding contradicted the common opinion.

The scientists discovered that certain chaperones are cage-like ‘folding machines’. They offer a protected environment to newly produced proteins, allowing them to fold into their correct functional structure. Misfolded proteins are one of the main causes of severe neurodegenerative disorders such as Alzheimer’s disease or Parkinson’s disease. Furthermore, protein misfolding plays an essential role in aging.

The Manager Magazin created the Hall of Fame of German Research to honor scientists, whose achievements have advanced Germany as a center of research and economy. The award was announced in a festive event with representatives from science, economy and politics and Darmstadt. The first Secretary General of the European Research Council (ERC) Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, who is also an external scientific member of the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, gave the laudatory speech for Hartl. After Feodor Lynen as a historic laureate and Axel Ullrich in 2012, Hartl is the third awardee from the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry.

About F.-Ulrich Hartl
Ulrich Hartl was born in 1957. He studied Medicine at the University of Heidelberg, where he afterwards gained his PhD. Hartl joined Walter Neupert’s research group at LMU as a postdoc and then became a group leader in Neupert’s department. A fellowship from the German Research Foundation (DFG) enabled him to undertake research at the University of California, Los Angeles. He did research as professor and Howard Hughes Medical Investigator at the Sloan Kettering Institute and at Cornell University in New York, USA. In 1997, the Max Planck Society succeeded in enticing the renowned scientist back to Germany. Since then, he is Director and head of the Department of Cellular Biochemistry at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry. Within the last years he was honored with multiple scientific prizes including 2002 the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize, 2011 the Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research, 2012 the Shaw Prize together with Horwich and 2016 the Albany Medical Center-Prize together with Horwich and Susan Lee Lindquist.

 
loading content
Go to Editor View

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. F.-Ulrich Hartl
Prof. Dr. F.-Ulrich Hartl
E-Mail:uhartl@...

MPI für Biochemie, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de/hartl

Zelluläre Biochemie

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI für Biochemie, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Weitere Informationen

Chaperone - Faltungshelfer in der Zelle

F.-Ulrich Hartl wird in Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung aufgenommen

2. November 2018

F.-Ulrich Hartl, Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried, wurde in die Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung aufgenommen. Die seit 2009 vom Manager Magazin eingeführte Ehrung würdigt Hartl als Pionier auf dem Gebiet der zellulären Proteinchemie. Hartl zeigte zusammen mit Kollegen aus den USA, dass sich neu entstandene Proteine nicht spontan falten, sondern Proteinfaltungshelfer, sogenannte Chaperone, benötigen. Somit wurde ein zentrales Dogma widerlegt, wonach sich Proteine in Zellen, wie im Reagenzglas, spontan falten. Seine Forschung zeigt auch, dass fehlgefaltete Proteine ein zentraler Bestandteil von neurodegenerativen Krankheiten, wie Alzheimer oder Parkinson sind und mit Fehlfunktionen von Proteinfaltungshelfern in enger Verbindung stehen.
Hall of Fame der Deutschen Forschung 2018 Award, Manager Magazin und Firma Merckv.l.: Barbara M Gruener, Martin Noe, F.-Ulrich Hartl, Stefan Oschmann, Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, Sascha Fahl Bild vergrößern
Hall of Fame der Deutschen Forschung 2018 Award, Manager Magazin und Firma Merck
v.l.: Barbara M Gruener, Martin Noe, F.-Ulrich Hartl, Stefan Oschmann, Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, Sascha Fahl [weniger]

Proteine, kleine molekulare Maschinen in den Zellen, übernehmen unzählige Aufgaben. Neu hergestellte Proteine müssen nach ihrer Produktion in spezifische, dreidimensionale Strukturen gefaltet werden. In den achtziger Jahren zeigte Hartl zusammen mit Kollegen, dass sich neu hergestellte Proteine nicht spontan in ihre funktionale Form falten, sondern Proteinfaltungshelfer, die Chaperone, benötigen. Dies widersprach der damals gängigen Meinung.

Die Forscher entdeckten, dass bestimmte Chaperone käfigähnliche „Faltungs-maschinen“ sind. Sie bieten den neu hergestellten Proteinen eine schützende Umgebung, die ihnen eine Faltung in ihre funktionelle Form ermöglicht. Fehlgefaltete Proteine sind eine Hauptursache für schwerwiegende neurodegenerative Erkrankungen wie Alzheimer oder Parkinson. Des Weiteren spielen Fehler in der Proteinfaltung eine entscheidende Rolle beim Altern.

Das Manager Magazin ehrt mit der Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung Wissenschaftler, die durch ihre Leistung den Forschungs- und Wirtschaftsstandort Deutschland voran gebracht haben. Die Ehrung wurde im Rahmen einer feierlichen Veranstaltung in Darmstadt mit Vertretern aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik bekannt gegeben. Die Laudatio auf Hartl hielt der Gründungs-Generalsekretär des Europäischen Forschungsrates (ERC) Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker, ebenfalls Laureat der Hall of Fame der deutschen Forschung und externes wissenschaftliches Mitglied am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie. Nach Feodor Lynen als historischem Laureat und Axel Ullrich im Jahr 2012 ist Hartl der dritte Preisträger aus dem Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie.

Über F.-Ulrich Hartl
F.-Ulrich Hartl wurde 1957 geboren und studierte Medizin an der Universität Heidelberg, wo er anschließend auch promovierte. Als wissenschaftlicher Assistent und dann Gruppenleiter wechselte er zu Walter Neupert an die Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München. Ein Stipendium der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft ermöglichte ihm einen ersten Forschungsaufenthalt an der University of California, Los Angeles. Als Professor und Investigator des Howard Hugh Medical Institute war er am Sloan-Kettering Institute und an der Cornell University in New York tätig. Im Jahr 1997 gelang es der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft den hochrangigen Wissenschaftler wieder nach Deutschland zurückzuholen. Seither leitet er am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie die Abteilung „Zelluläre Biochemie“. In den letzten Jahren wurden ihm eine Vielzahl von Wissenschaftspreisen zuerkannt, unter anderem, 2002 der Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Preis, 2011 der Albert-Lasker-Preis für grundlagenmedizinische Forschung und 2012 der Shaw-Preis zusammen mit Arthur L. Horwich und 2016 der Albany Medical Center-Preis zusammen mit Horwich und Susan Lee Lindquist.

 
loading content
Zur Redakteursansicht