Contact

Dr. Rubén Fernández-Busnadiego
profile_image
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Public Relations
Phone:+49 89 8578-2824
Email:pr@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Weeds in the brain

September 07, 2017

A common feature of neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, and Huntington’s is the accumulation of toxic protein deposits in the nerve cells of patients. Once these aggregates appear, they begin to proliferate like weeds. If and how these deposits damage nerve cells and lead to their demise remains largely unexplained. A detailed insight into the three-dimensional structure of the protein aggregates should help researchers to solve this puzzle. Now, using cryo-electron tomography, scientists at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried near Munich have succeeded in generating a high-resolution, three-dimensional model of the huntingtin aggregates responsible for Huntington’s disease. The results are published in the journal Cell.

 

<p>Huntingtin aggregates (blue) form large inclusion bodies that deform the membrane of the endoplasmic reticulum (red). Numerous ribosomes (green) are found at the periphery of the aggregates.</p> Zoom Image

Huntingtin aggregates (blue) form large inclusion bodies that deform the membrane of the endoplasmic reticulum (red). Numerous ribosomes (green) are found at the periphery of the aggregates.

[less]

Rampant weed growth – the nightmare of every hobby gardener. Trimming, cropping, cutting. Thorough garden maintenance is required. If this maintenance is neglected, weeds gain the upper hand and suppress the growth of crop and ornamental plants. The same applies to proteins in our bodies: molecular machines, large protein complexes that control vital cellular processes, assume the responsibility of a gardener. These molecular machines ensure that proteins reach their correct conformations and tend to and care for them for the duration of their lifespans.

A matter of the correct form
In order to carry out its function, a protein needs to adopt its correct three-dimensional structure. The building blocks of proteins, the amino acids, are assembled into long chains and folded into a complex form. If the resulting structure is faulty, the defective proteins are broken down in a strictly regulated process. If this does not occur properly, the misfolded proteins may aggregate forming clumps and deposits. Insoluble protein aggregates are toxic for cells. In the brain of patients suffering from neurodegenerative diseases such as Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, or Huntington’s, protein aggregates are often found.

If and how exactly these aggregates exert their toxic effects has not yet been explained. This is the question studied by the ToPAG (Toxic Protein AGgregation in neurodegeneration) consortium. A team of researchers in the departments of Wolfgang Baumeister, Ulrich Hartl and Rüdiger Klein has succeeded in decoding a 3D structure of the protein aggregates linked to Huntington’s disease within their intact cellular environment.

Microscopy, ice-cold
The breakthrough was enabled by a novel technique in structural research, cryo-electron tomography. In this technique, cells are flash-frozen and then, using an electron microscope, two-dimensional pictures are generated from different angles. The researchers can then assemble the generated pictures on a computer like the pieces of a 3D puzzle to generate a high-resolution model. “With this method, we can take a snapshot of protein structures within intact cells, and determine with which additional cellular structures these proteins interact”, is how Rubén Fernández-Busnadiego, coordinator of the study, explains the special features of this technique.

High-resolution 3D structure of huntingtin aggregates generated from cryo electon tomograms. Zoom Image
High-resolution 3D structure of huntingtin aggregates generated from cryo electon tomograms.

When the scientists examined nerve cells with protein deposits under the microscope, they discovered inclusion bodies consisting of sticky, filamentous bundles of the huntingtin protein, so-called fibrils. In Huntington’s patients, a mutation in a single gene leads to defects in the huntingtin protein: The DNA, the blueprint for proteins, encoding huntingtin in these patients contains an abnormally high number of repeat copies of a particular sequence. As a result, the produced protein contains at its end multiple copies of a protein building block glutamine. This makes the faulty huntingtin proteins particularly sticky, and they easily clump into insoluble aggregates.

“Over time, more and more of these proteins become incorporated into aggregates”, explains Felix Bäuerlein, first author of the study. Staying with the gardening analogy: In brain cells, the aggregates proliferate like weeds. Where they have once spread and aren’t removed properly, the weeds multiply. And in the same way that these weeds spoil neatly tended flower beds and suppress the growth of other plants, so do the aggregated proteins interfere with the functioning of neighboring cellular components. “If these protein deposits spread, they severely deform the membranes of cellular structures with which they come into contact. In some instances, this may lead to the tearing of the membrane”, says Bäuerlein. One organelle which is affected is the endoplasmic reticulum. In this way, the functioning of healthy organelles and proteins might be compromised. “We hypothesize that, little by little, the infrastructure of the cell is destroyed”, concludes Fernández-Busnadiego.

Previous therapies have been targeted only at the symptoms of neurodegenerative diseases, and there is no cure for patients with these conditions. “This insight into the structure of protein aggregates should improve our understanding of how aggregates exert their toxic effects on nerve cells. Our results open up an interesting perspective for further research into novel therapeutic approaches”, says Fernández-Busnadiego optimistically. [SiM]

 
loading content

Kontakt

Dr. Rubén Fernández-Busnadiego
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI für Biochemie, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Unkraut im Gehirn

7. September 2017

Alzheimer, Parkinson und Huntington – neurodegenerative Krankheiten haben eine Gemeinsamkeit: In den Nervenzellen der Patienten sammeln sich giftige Proteinablagerungen an. Sind diese Aggregate erst einmal vorhanden, wuchern sie wie Unkraut. Ob und wie die Ablagerungen Nervenzellen schädigen und zu deren Absterben führen, ist bisher noch weitgehend ungeklärt. Ein detaillierter Einblick in die dreidimensionale Struktur der Proteinaggregate soll den Forschern helfen, dieses Rätsel zu lösen. Wissenschaftler am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried bei München konnten jetzt mittels Kryo-Elektronentomographie ein hochauflösendes, dreidimensionales Modell der für die Huntington-Krankheit verantwortlichen Huntingtin-Aggregate erstellen. Die Ergebnisse wurden im Journal Cell veröffentlicht.

Die Huntingtin-Aggregate (blau) bilden große Einschlusskörper, die die Membran des Endoplasmatischen Retikulums (rot) verformen. Am Rand finden sich zahlreiche Ribosomen (grün). Bild vergrößern

Die Huntingtin-Aggregate (blau) bilden große Einschlusskörper, die die Membran des Endoplasmatischen Retikulums (rot) verformen. Am Rand finden sich zahlreiche Ribosomen (grün).

[weniger]

Wild wucherndes Unkraut – der Alptraum eines jeden Gärtners. Beschneiden, Stutzen, Mähen. Eine gründliche Gartenpflege ist nötig. Wird diese vernachlässigt, nimmt das Unkraut Überhand und unterdrückt das Wachstum der Nutz- und Zierpflanzen. In unserem Körper läuft es auf Proteinebene ähnlich: Molekulare Maschinen, große Proteinkomplexe, die in Zellen lebenswichtige Prozesse steuern, übernehmen die Funktion eines Gärtners: Sie bringen Proteine in die richtige Form und hegen und pflegen diese.

Auf die richtige Form kommt es an
Damit Proteine ihre Funktion erfüllen können, müssen sie die korrekte dreidimensionale Struktur haben. Die Bausteine der Proteine, die Aminosäuren, sind in einer langen Kette aneinandergereiht und werden in eine komplexe Faltung gebracht. Ist die entstandene Anordnung fehlerhaft, werden die defekten Proteine in einem streng regulierten Prozess abgebaut. Geschieht dies nicht, können sie verklumpen und Ablagerungen bilden. Die unlöslichen Proteinaggregate wirken toxisch auf Zellen. Das Gehirn von Patienten mit neurodegenerative Krankheiten wie Alzheimer, Parkinson oder Huntington weist häufig solche Aggregate auf.

Ob und wie genau diese Aggregate Nervenzellen schädigen, ist bisher ungeklärt. Dieser Frage gehen Experten des ToPAG (Toxic Protein AGgregation in neurodegeneration) Konsortiums nach. Ein Team von Wissenschaftlern der Abteilungen von Wolfgang Baumeister, Ulrich Hartl und Rüdiger Klein konnte eine hochauflösende 3D-Struktur der Proteinaggregate, die mit der Huntington-Krankheit assoziiert sind, innerhalb ihrer intakten zellulären Umgebung entschlüsseln.

Eiskalt unter die Lupe genommen
Möglich war dies durch eine neuartige Technik in der Strukturforschung, der Kryo-Elektronentomographie. Dabei werden Zellen blitzartig eingefroren und am Elektronenmikroskop zweidimensionale Aufnahmen aus verschiedenen Winkeln erstellt. Die Forscher können die entstandenen Bilder dann – wie Teile eines 3D-Puzzles – am Computer zu einem hochaufgelösten Modell zusammensetzen.  „Mit dieser Methode können wir eine Momentaufnahme der Struktur von Proteinen in intakten Zellen erstellen und analysieren, mit welchen anderen Zellbestandteilen diese Proteine interagieren“, erklärt Rubén Fernández-Busnadiego, Koordinator der Studie, die Besonderheiten dieser Technik.

Mittels Kryoelektronentomographie wurde eine hochauflösende 3D-Struktur der Huntingtin-Aggregate  erstellt. Bild vergrößern
Mittels Kryoelektronentomographie wurde eine hochauflösende 3D-Struktur der Huntingtin-Aggregate  erstellt.

Als die Wissenschaftler Nervenzellen mit Proteinablagerungen unter die Lupe nahmen, fanden sie Einschlusskörper, bestehend aus verklebten, faserartigen Bündeln des Huntingtin-Proteins (Fibrillen). Bei Patienten, die von der Huntington-Krankheit betroffen sind, ist dieses Protein aufgrund einer Veränderung eines einzelnen Gens fehlerhaft: Die DNA, die Bauanleitung der Proteine, enthält aneinandergereiht mehrfache Kopien einer bestimmten Sequenz. Im fertigen Protein wird deswegen vermehrt der Proteinbaustein Glutamin an das Ende angeheftet. Die fehlerhaften Huntingtin-Proteine sind dadurch besonders klebrig und verklumpen leicht zu unlöslichen Knäueln.

„Mit der Zeit lagern sich immer mehr solcher Proteinaggregate ab“, erklärt Felix Bäuerlein, Erstautor der Studie. Um beim Vergleich zur Gartenarbeit zu bleiben: In Gehirnzellen wuchert es wie Unkraut. Wo es einmal wächst und nicht säuberlich entfernt wird, vermehrt sich das Unkraut. Und wie dieses in das Pflanzenbeet einwächst und Nutz- und Zierpflanzen verdrängt, wirken die verklumpten Proteine auf benachbarte Zellbestandteile und Proteine. „Breiten sich die Ablagerungen aus, verformen sie an den Kontaktstellen die Membranen umliegender Zellbestandteile. Teilweise kann das zum Zerreißen dieser Hülle führen“, so Bäuerlein. Eine der betroffenen Zellstrukturen ist beispielsweise das Endoplasmatische Retikulum. Womöglich wird so die Funktion gesunder Organellen und Proteine beeinträchtigt. „Wir gehen davon aus, dass auf diese Weise nach und nach die Infrastruktur der Zelle zerstört wird“, schlussfolgert Fernández-Busnadiego.

Bisherige Therapien behandeln nur die Symptome neurodegenerativer Erkrankungen, eine Heilung der Patienten ist noch nicht möglich. „Mithilfe der Struktur der Proteinaggregate wollen wir die toxische Wirkung auf Nervenzellen besser verstehen. Auf dieser Grundlage erhoffen wir uns, in Zukunft neuartige Behandlungsansätze zu finden“, gibt sich Fernández-Busnadiego optimistisch. [SiM]

 
loading content
Zur Redakteursansicht