Contact

profile_image
Prof. Dr. Ralf Jungmann
Group Leader
Phone:+49 89 8578 3410Fax:+49 89 8578 3430

MPI of Biochemistry,
Am Klopferspitz 18
82152 Martinsried

http://www.jungmannlab.org

profile_image
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Public Relations
Phone:+49 89 8578-2824
Email:pr@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Multicoloured microcosm: 124 colours thanks to RGB technology

June 22, 2017

Red, green and blue: normally, no more than three different colours can be detected simultaneously in fluorescence microscopy. Thanks to recent RGB nanotechnology, similar to that used in computer monitors, it is now possible to generate 124 virtual colours under the microscope. The three primary colours are arranged in various mixing ratios on a special DNA lattice. This creates individual colour pixels under the microscope. The new method was developed by scientists at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich, Germany, and the Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering at Harvard University in the US. The team’s work was published in the journal Science Advances

<p>Thanks to RGB nanotechnology it is now possible to generate 124 virtual colours under the microscope. The three primary colours are arranged in various mixing ratios on a special DNA lattice (foreground). This creates individual colour pixels under the microscope (background).</p> Zoom Image

Thanks to RGB nanotechnology it is now possible to generate 124 virtual colours under the microscope. The three primary colours are arranged in various mixing ratios on a special DNA lattice (foreground). This creates individual colour pixels under the microscope (background).

[less]

Biomedical research has made tremendous strides in recent decades. Using the latest microscopes, scientists are analyzing the function and interactions of molecules in cells with ever greater detail. Now, researchers are looking for methods to image multiple molecules simultaneously.

RGB nanotechnology
A team of scientists from Germany and the US headed by Ralf Jungmann and Peng Yin has now developed substances known as metafluorophors. “The technology can be compared to that of an RGB monitor,” explains Jungmann, Leader of the Molecular Imaging and Bionanotechnology Research Group. To display a wide range of colours on a screen, each colour is mixed from the three primary colours: red, green and blue. “We’ve transferred this approach to the nanometre scale. Instead of a single fluorescence dye molecule, multiple fluorescent molecules are applied to a carrier material, which serves as a kind of experimental board. Depending on the proportion of the three primary colours, they appear in different colours under the microscope, comparable to nanometre-scale colour pixels on a computer screen. “

DNA origami
The team uses what is known as DNA origami for the lattice. These are self-organizing nanometre-scale DNA structures consisting of a long framework strand. The strand folds into a two- or three-dimensional shape in a predetermined manner. This strand is stabilized by around 200 short binding strands that bridge various parts of the framework. The researchers integrate small colour probes (normally red, green, or blue fluorescent probes) into the self-folding DNA structures. Depending on the colours to be generated, the number of required colour probes is calculated in advance. “If you compare the size of the lattice, which only measures 60 x 90 nanometres, with a pixel on a full-HD television, the entire screen would measure only around 0.2 x 0.1 mm,” Jungmann explains.

124 virtual colours
This nanotechnology approach currently offers a range of 124 virtual colours. “This figure can be adjusted in the future,” says Yin, a faculty member at the Wyss Institute and professor of system biology at Harvard Medical School. “Our study allows researchers to construct a large collection of metafluorophores with finely tuned optical properties. Those, in turn, can be used to image a variety of molecules in a sample, such as specific DNA or RNA sequences,” Yin says.

“At the moment, the DNA origami structures are still too bulky to diffuse into the interior of a cell. We’re looking for ways to allow flexible, short DNA molecules to cross cellular membranes and to take on their three-dimensional form only after binding to their target. We’ve outlined the first steps in this direction in the publication,” Jungmann says in anticipation of future research.

Originalpublikation:
J.B. Woehrstein, M.T. Strauss, L.L. Ong, B. Wei, D. Y. Zang, R. Jungmann & Peng Ying “Sub-100-nm metafluorophores with digitally tunable optical properties self-assembled from DNA”. Science Advances, June 2017
DOI: 10.1126/sciadv.1602128

 
loading content

Kontakt

Dr. Ralf Jungmann
Dr. Ralf Jungmann
Gruppenleiter
Telefon:+49 89 8578-3410Fax:+49 89 8578-3430

MPI für Biochemie,
Am Klopferspitz 18
82152 Martinsried

http://www.biochem.mpg.de/jungmann

Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI für Biochemie, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Im Mikrokosmos wird es bunt: 124 Farben dank RGB-Technologie

22. Juni 2017

Rot, Grün, Blau – standardmäßig können in der Fluoreszensmikroskopie maximal drei verschiedene Farben zeitgleich detektiert werden. Dank der neuen RGB-Nanotechnologie, ähnlich der eines Monitors, können jetzt unter dem Mikroskop 124 virtuelle Farben generiert werden. Auf einem speziellen DNA-Gitter werden die drei Grundfarben in verschiedenen Mischungsverhältnissen angeordnet. So entstehen individuelle Farbpunkte unter dem Mikroskop. Diese neue Methode wurde von Wissenschaftlern des Max-Planck-Institutes für Biochemie, der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München in Deutschland und Harvards Wyss Institute for Biologically Inspired Engineering in den USA entwickelt. Ihre Arbeit wurde im Journal Science Advances publiziert.

Mithilfe der RGB-Nanotechnologie können jetzt unter dem Mikroskop 124 virtuelle Farben generiert werden. Auf einem speziellen DNA-Gitter werden die drei Grundfarben in verschiedenen Mischungsverhältnissen angeordnet (Vordergrund). So entstehen individuelle Farbpunkte unter dem Mikroskop (Hintergrund). Bild vergrößern
Mithilfe der RGB-Nanotechnologie können jetzt unter dem Mikroskop 124 virtuelle Farben generiert werden. Auf einem speziellen DNA-Gitter werden die drei Grundfarben in verschiedenen Mischungsverhältnissen angeordnet (Vordergrund). So entstehen individuelle Farbpunkte unter dem Mikroskop (Hintergrund). [weniger]

In den letzten Jahrzehnten hat die biomedizinische Forschung enorme Fortschritte gemacht. Mithilfe neuster Mikroskope analysieren Wissenschaftler die Funktion und das Zusammenspiel von Molekülen in Zellen immer detailreicher. Jetzt suchen Forscher nach Methoden, um eine Vielzahl von Molekülen zeitgleich sichtbar zu machen.

RGB-Nanotechnologie
Ein Team von Wissenschaftlern aus Deutschland und Amerika, geleitet von Ralf Jungmann und Peng Yin, hat nun sogenannte Metafluorophore entwickelt. „Die Technologie kann man sich vergleichbar der eines RGB-Monitors vorstellen“, erklärt Jungmann, Leiter der Forschungsgruppe „Molekulare Bildgebung und Bionanotechnologie“. Um auf einem Bildschirm verschiedenste Farben darzustellen, werden diese aus den drei Grundfarben rot, grün und blau gemischt. „Wir haben diesen Ansatz auf die Nanometerskala transferiert. Anstelle eines einzelnen Fluoreszenzfarbmoleküls werden nun auf ein Trägermaterial – eine Art Steckplatte – mehrere Fluoreszensmoleküle aufgebracht. Je nach Anteil der drei Grundfarben erscheinen diese unter dem Mikroskop in unterschiedlichen Farben, vergleichbar mit einem farbigen Pixel in Nanometergröße auf einem Computerbildschirm.“

DNA-Origami
Für die Steckplatte nutzt das Team das sogenannte DNA-Origami. Dabei handelt es sich um selbstorganisierende DNA-Strukturen in Nanometergröße, die aus einem langen Gerüststrang bestehen. Der Strang faltet sich in vorprogrammierbarer Weise in eine zwei- oder dreidimensionale Form. Diese wird durch etwa 200 kurze Heftstränge stabilisiert, die verschiedene Teile des Gerüstes überbrücken. Die kleinen Farbsonden (standardmäßig werden rot, grün oder blau fluoreszierende verwendet) werden von den Forschern in die selbstfaltenden DNA-Strukturen integriert. Je nach Farbe wird die Anzahl der jeweils benötigten Farbsonden im Vorfeld berechnet. „Würden wir die Steckplattengröße, die nur 60 x 90 Nanometer klein ist, mit der eines Bildpunktes auf einem Full HD-Fernsehers vergleichen, dann wäre der gesamte Bildschirm ungefähr 0,2 x 0,1 mm groß“, erklärt Jungmann.

124 virtuelle Farben
Dieser nanotechnologische Ansatz bietet zur Zeit eine Palette von 124 virtuellen Farben. „Diese Zahl kann in Zukunft angepasst werden“, sagt Yin, Fakultätsmitglied am Wyss Institute und Professor für Systembiologie an der Harvard Medical School. "Unsere Studie ermöglicht es Forschern, eine große Sammlung von Metafluorophoren mit genau abgestimmten optischen Eigenschaften zu konstruieren. Damit können sie dann eine Vielzahl von Molekülen in einer Probe sichtbar machen, wie z.B. spezifische DNA- oder RNA-Sequenzen“, fasstW Yin zusammen.

„Aktuell sind die DNA-Origami-Strukturen noch zu sperrig, um in das Innere der Zelle zu diffundieren. Hier suchen wir noch nach Möglichkeiten, dass flexible, kurze DNA-Moleküle die Membranen von Zellen durchdringen können und erst ihre dreidimensionale Form annehmen, sobald sie ihr Ziel binden. Erste Schritte in diese Richtung haben wir in der Veröffentlichung bereits aufgezeigt", schaut Jungmann in die Zukunft.

Originalpublikation:
J.B. Woehrstein, M.T. Strauss, L.L. Ong, B. Wei, D. Y. Zang, R. Jungmann & Peng Ying “Sub-100-nm metafluorophores with digitally tunable optical properties self-assembled from DNA”. Science Advances, Juni 2017

 

 
loading content
Zur Redakteursansicht