Kontakt

profile_image
Prof. Elena Conti, PhD
Director
Phone:+49 89 8578-3602Fax:+49 89 8578-3605
Email:conti@...
profile_image
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Public Relations
Phone:+49 89 8578-2824
Email:pr@...

MPI of Biochemistry, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Advanced ERC Grant for Elena Conti

May 16, 2017

Elena Conti, head of the department „Structural Cell Biology“ at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry in Martinsried receives the Advanced Grant of the European Research Council for the second time. It comes with a funding of more than two million Euros for five years. Together with her team, she investigates the interaction of the exosomes and ribosomes. These are the major players in essential cellular processes – governing the synthesis and degradation of RNAs and proteins. Major foundations of planned work were laid by the Conti group in the earlier ERC Advanced Grant, which characterized structure and function of the exosome.

Elena Conti Zoom Image
Elena Conti

About Elena Conti
Professor Elena Conti studied Chemistry at the University of Pavia in Italy. She received her PhD in Protein Crystallography at Imperial College, London in 1997. After a Postdoctoral fellowship in John Kuriyan’s lab at The Rockefeller University, New York, USA, she was appointed Group leader at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) in Heidelberg, Germany in 1999. There she focused her research interest on mechanisms of RNA export to the cytoplasm and the structure and function of the molecular machines involved. Conti has followed the fate of RNA in the cytoplasm since then. She was appointed Director and Scientific Member at the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried near Munich, Germany in 2006 where she leads the department of “Structural Cell Biology”. Since 2007, she is Honorary Professor at the Ludwig Maximilian University in Munich. Conti received numerous awards, among others the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2008 and the Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine 2014. More information you find here.

About the ERC
The European Research Council, set up by the European Union in 2007, is the first European funding organisation for excellent frontier research. Every year, it selects and funds the very best, creative researchers of any nationality and age, to run projects based in Europe. The ERC has three core grant schemes: Starting Grants, Consolidator Grants and Advanced Grants. The Advanced Grant is for well-established top researchers, who are scientifically independent and with a recent high-level research track-record and profile which identifies them as leaders in their respective field(s). More information you find here.

 
loading content

Kontakt

profile_image
Prof. Dr. Elena Conti
Telefon:+49 89 8578 - 3606 / 3604
E-Mail:conti@...

MPI für Biochemie, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de/conti

Zelluläre Strukturbiologie

profile_image
Dr. Christiane Menzfeld
Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
Telefon:+49 89 8578-2824
E-Mail:pr@...

MPI für Biochemie, Am Klopferspitz 18, 82152 Martinsried

www.biochem.mpg.de

Advanced ERC Grant für Elena Conti

16. Mai 2017

Elena Conti, Leiterin der Abteilung „Zelluläre Strukturbiologie“ am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried wurde zum zweiten Mal der Advanced Grant des Europäischen Forschungsrates (ERC), zugesprochen. Conti erhält über zwei Millionen Euro für fünf Jahre. Gemeinsam mit ihrem Team erforscht sie das Zusammenspiel von Exosomen und Ribosomen. Die beiden molekularen Maschinen sind jeweils für den Abbau von RNA und den Aufbau von Proteinen verantwortlich. Die wesentliche Grundlage für die geplante Arbeit wurde von der Forschungsgruppe mit Hilfe des früheren ERC Advanced Grant gelegt. Mit dessen Hilfe wurde die Struktur und Funktion des Exosoms charakterisiert.

<p>Elena Conti</p> Bild vergrößern

Elena Conti

Über Elena Conti
Die Professorin Elena Conti studierte Chemie an der Universität Pavia in Italien. 1997 promovierte sie auf dem Gebiet der Proteinkristallografie am Imperial College in London. Nach ihrer Postdoktorandenzeit im Labor von John Kuriyan an der Rockefeller Universität in New York, USA wurde sie 1999 Gruppenleiterin am Europäischen Laboratorium für Molekularbiologie, EMBL, in Heidelberg. Dort konzentrierte sie ihr Forschungsinteresse auf Mechanismen des RNA-Exports in das Zellplasma, sowie die Struktur und Funktion der daran beteiligten molekularen Maschinen. Seither erforscht sie die Aufgaben und den Verbleib der RNA im Zellplasma. 2006 wurde sie Direktorin und wissenschaftliches Mitglied am Max-Planck-Institut für Biochemie in Martinsried bei München. Hier leitet sie die Abteilung „Zelluläre Strukturbiologie“. Seit 2007 ist sie Honorarprofessorin an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität in München. Conti erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter 2008 den Gottfried-Wilhelm-Leibniz-Preis und 2007 den Lois-Jeantet-Pries für Medizin. Mehr Informationen finden sie hier.

Über den ERC
Der Europäische Forschungsrat, ERC, wurde 2007 von der Europäischen Union etabliert und ist die erste europäische Förderorganisation für herausragende Forschung. Jedes Jahr wählt und finanziert der ERC die besten und kreativsten Forscher jeder Nationalität und Alters damit diese ihre Projekte in Europa durchführen können. Der ERC vergibt drei Arten von Stipendien: den „Starter-Grant“, den „Consolidator Grant“ und den „Advanced Grant“. Der „Advanced Grant“ fördert etablierte unabhängige Top-Wissenschaftler, die auf ihrem jeweiligen Forschungsfeld führend sind. Mehr Informationen finden sie hier.

 
loading content